Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
I revised this recipe somewhat by adding 1/3 cup fat-free sour cream; reduced the cream-style corn to 2 cans; substituted Pepperidge Farms Herbed Cornbread Stuffing for the saltines. Any vegetable I can get my son to eat with gusto, deserves a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very Good, Just like my Gramma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As usual I made this exactly by the directions the first time and it was very good. the second time I tweaked it a bit by adding a little sour cream, salt and more black pepper. After that noone could get enough. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
this was so simple and delicious! a great comfort food, my family loved it for easter brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Delicious! The best scalloped corn I've ever made. I used 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 can of whole corn. I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of saltines and it had a more flavorful taste plus added 1/4 cup of finely chopped red onions which added more flavor too. I also added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the cracker crumb mixture for the topping. I will make this over and over again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
By using only 2 cans creamed corn with 1 can regular corn and substituting saltine crackers for buttery club crackers our family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is a very good side dish. A simple dish that requires ingredients one would normally have on hand. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I have always made scalloped corn very similar to this recipe, but adding the paprika, butter and crackers to make a crumb topping really made an improvement. Everyone I served it to at our Thanksgiving gathering really loved it. I did add diced onions to the corn mixture, my family loves them in their scalloped corn, but otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe Cali!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Excellent! Just how I remember it. I did make a minor adjustment though. In place of the canned cream corn, I used the recipe for "Marian's Creamed Corn" found on this website (I omitted the bread crumbs and 3tbsp. butter from that recipe). Thank you so much for sharing this great old fashioned goody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
JUST LIKE MY GRANDMA USED TO MAKE! I made this for Christmas dinner to go with my ham and it got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was I used Ritz crackers instead of saltines which I think makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States