Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Delicious! The best scalloped corn I've ever made. I used 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 can of whole corn. I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of saltines and it had a more flavorful taste plus added 1/4 cup of finely chopped red onions which added more flavor too. I also added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the cracker crumb mixture for the topping. I will make this over and over again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
By using only 2 cans creamed corn with 1 can regular corn and substituting saltine crackers for buttery club crackers our family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner, and everyone liked it very much. I made it with 2 cans of cream corn, and 1 can of whole corn, and I added a pinch of sugar. I think maybe next time I might try 2 whole, and 1 can of cream corn. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Comfort food night(or also known as broke-as-heck and using what's in the cupboards). I cut this back by half. Instead of using half a can of creamed corn, I used two full cans. I threw in some Frank's Hot Sauce into the creamed corn mixture. I used Ritz crackers because that was what I had on hand. I tossed a couple tablespoons of Kraft parmesan cheese (in the green canister) in with the cracker mixture before I sprinkled it over the creamed corn. My boys LOVED this--my oldest boy had two big helpings and asked for a third but my husband had already finished it off. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As usual I made this exactly by the directions the first time and it was very good. the second time I tweaked it a bit by adding a little sour cream, salt and more black pepper. After that noone could get enough. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is an old, family recipe. I have been eating this for Thanksgiving since I was a baby! While it is not fancy or in any way wow-inducing compared to some of the recipes on this site, it is my idea of comfort food. It is a lovely side for a meal, easy to prepare, and just about everyone likes it. what more do you want? Tradition at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
I revised this recipe somewhat by adding 1/3 cup fat-free sour cream; reduced the cream-style corn to 2 cans; substituted Pepperidge Farms Herbed Cornbread Stuffing for the saltines. Any vegetable I can get my son to eat with gusto, deserves a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
JUST LIKE MY GRANDMA USED TO MAKE! I made this for Christmas dinner to go with my ham and it got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was I used Ritz crackers instead of saltines which I think makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
It's not much different than opening three cans of creamed corn and putting it in a pot on the stove and heating it up, and it's not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Everyone is complaining about canned corn. THAT is what Cali used in the recipe. If you do not like can then don't use the recipe! Make it with CORN on the COB. Very good recipe!! Thank You:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States