Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Delicious! The best scalloped corn I've ever made. I used 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 can of whole corn. I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of saltines and it had a more flavorful taste plus added 1/4 cup of finely chopped red onions which added more flavor too. I also added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the cracker crumb mixture for the topping. I will make this over and over again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very Good, Just like my Gramma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
As usual I made this exactly by the directions the first time and it was very good. the second time I tweaked it a bit by adding a little sour cream, salt and more black pepper. After that noone could get enough. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used 2 cans creamed corn and 1 can regular corn. I made it on Thanksgiving. I'm not sure that it could hold it's own as an everyday side dish, it's rather bland. But with the combination of all the other sides that we served that day, it was a fine addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is a very good side dish. A simple dish that requires ingredients one would normally have on hand. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I may try it with some other spices or something to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Excellent! Just how I remember it. I did make a minor adjustment though. In place of the canned cream corn, I used the recipe for "Marian's Creamed Corn" found on this website (I omitted the bread crumbs and 3tbsp. butter from that recipe). Thank you so much for sharing this great old fashioned goody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I have always made scalloped corn very similar to this recipe, but adding the paprika, butter and crackers to make a crumb topping really made an improvement. Everyone I served it to at our Thanksgiving gathering really loved it. I did add diced onions to the corn mixture, my family loves them in their scalloped corn, but otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe Cali!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
It's not much different than opening three cans of creamed corn and putting it in a pot on the stove and heating it up, and it's not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States