Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This has been a family favorite at every holiday feast. The only thing we do to make it our own is to use Ritz crackers instead of saltines. I also use about 1 cup of crackers in the corn and about a 1/2 a cup for the topping, and no margerine. As my Dad always says, "Everything is better with butter, except watermelon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very very tasty and just what I was looking for! Took it to Thanksgiving dinner and it was demolished!!!! From the itty bitty kids to the older ones, everyone raved about it!! Thanks for sharing!!! - April in PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly. I really liked the texture, like a light frittata. My kids loved it. I needed a little extra salt at the table. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was fantastic! I have to make it at least once a week for my family...they can't get enough of this wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nascar43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cool Ridge, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I like to use ritz crackers but it is good either way. Nice easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Good.I would give this 5 stars but the flavor was just corn-y. I like the texture. I like the crackers. Next time I will saute half an onion in oil or bacon grease add a couple shakes salt and pepper and then it will be a 5!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I made this for a family dinner. My brother-in-law didn't like it, but he likes nothing, especially casserole type things. The rest if us thought it was ok. It seemed to lack something, but we aren't sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makenna's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I tried this recipe for my very picky roommate. She loved it, and I did, too! Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My husband has been trying to get me to make Scalloped Corn for about the past 16 years but with all the varying versions I was always leery on picking the right one. I decided to surprise him this last Thanksgiving using this recipe – I realize now that this dish needs about 15-20 minutes to ‘rest’ before serving. I got a second change at Thanksgiving dinner when my daughter and son-in-law came home to visit while on R&R from their tour in Iraq. This time I used 1 sleeve of cracker and ¼ cup butter in the corn mix and 1 sleeve of crackers and ½ cup butter on the top. A huge hit!! I was even asked to bring this as my passing dish for the Family Reunion ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was GREAT - i added 1 cup of saltines to the corn mix and 1 cup to the topping - nothing but RAVES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States