Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This wasn't any better than plain old corn, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this casserole for Easter using one sleeve of crakers for the base and one for the topping. I also substituted one can of creamed corn for a can of regular sweet corn. It turned out very well. My boyfriend and I both loved it reminded us of what are grandmothers use to make!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Followed the recipe the way it was written and it turned out very runny and was really nothing special. Upon looking at the other reviews will try some of the other suggestions and try again. Always willingly to try a few times and doctor it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Thorndale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was good but just tasted like cream of corn nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carly12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe, Only used 2 cans of creamed corn. (didn't have 3) Substituted french fried onion rings instead of saltines. This made it absolutely mouth watering. Was the first dish finished on Christmas Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Kudos to my brother in law for making this awesome dish for our family Christmas dinner...AND for sharing the website from where he got the recipe!! I'm a sous chef in a small restaurant and I'm so going to show up the so called head chef with this one!! Merry Christmas, everyone. This dish is beyond extraordinary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I really wanted to like this. I'm sorry to say it tasted just like saltine crackers and canned creamed corn. I guess it sounds silly, but somehow I was expecting something tasting less like crackers. I do like scalloped corn though, just this didn't taste how I expected. Very bland. Maybe using Ritz crackers next time and adding some cayenne? Thanks anyway, we didn't mind giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Good...I halfed the recipe and used one can of creamed corn, and one can of drained whole corn. I also used ritz crackers. Was a little watery, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was exactly like my grandma used to make, and exactly what I was looking for! The cracker crumbs browned up perfectly on top, and it was overall perfect with Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Good but texture is a bit runny for me. I will drain some of the juices from the corn next time. The topping is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States