Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have been looking for a good scalloped corn recipe. This is it super easy, cheap and good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaxIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Very simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Pretty much tastes like cream corn and butter warmed up...nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I ate this as a child and have craved it recently so I used this recipe at Thanksgiving and Easter and everybody loved it. I forgot the pepper and paprika and it was still delicious as I remember
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My Grandma also made this for my dad and it is a favorite of his. Since she's gotten up in years it hasn't been the same and so I decided to try this recipe and surprise him for Christmas. It was a hit and that says something in my family. I did alter it just a bit. I used one 20 oz package of frozen creamed corn and two 12 oz packages of regular frozen corn. I also used buttery crackers instead of saltines. I am making it again for Easter dinner. Well worth the time and effort to make this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was pretty good. I enjoyed the recommendation of using one sleeve of saltine crackers in the corn part and one sleeve of saltines in the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent! This recipe tastes exactly like the great casseroles that I enjoyed for many years at our church potlucks. It was so easy to fix. I substituted bread crumbs instead of saltines (less sodium) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had such high expectations for this recipe and I gotta say I was let down. I've never had scalloped corn before so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like but to me this just tasted like you opened a can of cream corn and crumbled some saltines in it. I wouldn't go through the trouble again when I could easily open a can of corn and get about the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe for our family Christmas dinner for a different variety and everyone loved it...better then my old recipe from my grandmother. I used two cans of creamed corn and two small cans of whole sweet corn. This is probably the best I have had...just remember to let it 'rest' before serving. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm sorry, I guess I just don't like Scalloped corn. I didn't like the mushy texture and I don't think it was meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sddoula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States