Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent! This recipe tastes exactly like the great casseroles that I enjoyed for many years at our church potlucks. It was so easy to fix. I substituted bread crumbs instead of saltines (less sodium) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had such high expectations for this recipe and I gotta say I was let down. I've never had scalloped corn before so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like but to me this just tasted like you opened a can of cream corn and crumbled some saltines in it. I wouldn't go through the trouble again when I could easily open a can of corn and get about the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe for our family Christmas dinner for a different variety and everyone loved it...better then my old recipe from my grandmother. I used two cans of creamed corn and two small cans of whole sweet corn. This is probably the best I have had...just remember to let it 'rest' before serving. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm sorry, I guess I just don't like Scalloped corn. I didn't like the mushy texture and I don't think it was meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sddoula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Just what I was looking for. Just like Mom used to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmurfyGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I have to give it 5 stars because it was good. But it's pretty much the same as opening a can of creamed corn and heating it up. I also had trouble with the topping because it doesn't "sprinkle" that well, it chunks. So it was very uneven. I also cooked it for an hour like a few reviews said, which helped make it somewhat thicker in consistency. I think it's horrible to add that much butter to a dish that really doesn't need it. I won't be making this again, I'll just enjoy regular creamed corn like usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving dinner, it was very good, but I did substitute one can of whole kernel corn for a can of cream corn. so I used 2 cream & 1 regular. I would also add some chopped onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I doubled this recipe and omitted one can of creamed and added a 15 oz pkg of white frozen corn which I steamed before adding. This was an excellent recipe. When doubled it took 65 to 70 minutes to bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe is runny and flavorless. I agree with other reviews that it tasted like plain old creamed corn out of the can. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used frozen corn and added a little evaporated milk and sour cream for more of a custard effect. I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States