Old-Fashioned Roasted Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! I made a couple of changes after reading the reviews; vanilla instead of water, 2 egg whites and 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. My father loves pecans and I served this at his 60th birthday party. So many people asked me for this recipe I lost count after a while. Absolutely delicious and addiciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
DEEEEEEEE-LICIOUS! i also did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar after reading other reviewers and added a pinch of caenne pepper...mmm mmm...too good. my husband is not home from work yet and i just hope i don't eat it all before he arrives! thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Used 1/4c Splenda w/ 1/4c splenda brown sugar for the perfect and easy diabetic treat. Made 2nd batch w/almond extract and spice cake spice w/ cinnamon..just as good, great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
ADDICTING!!!! These are SO good... I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I ended up using 2 egg whites and 2 tbs water. Try these as a salad topper in place of crutons.. you won't regret it!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
these were good, but I wish they were a little more flavorful. I used about 1/3 white sugar, I'd use all brown sugar next time. If I were to make them again, I'd add more salt and might try the spices suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe is amazing! The cinnamon sugar just made a nice coating on the outside of the nuts. I'm sure you could use peanuts or cashews for this recipe also. I made it with pre-roasted pecans, and it was just phenominal! This is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used mixed nuts w/out peanuts & 1/2 white and brown sugar and fresh cracked black pepper ( only) and bagged up in indiviual bags to each I added dried cranberries. Bought similar at Costco and wanted to try it at home. Turned out very good. Thank you so much for sharing the master recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I changed this just a little and they are now my favorite nuts. In place of the white sugar, I used brown sugar. I also add a small amount of cumin and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My husband says that these are like crack! He couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I added vanilla instead of water as some had suggested but i didnt like it. It was too much vanilla. Maybe next time I will try half and half. Howver, they still tasted great besides the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States