Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jonny N.
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was a great recipe. I did add cinnamon to the recipe and I only cooked it for 2 hours rather than the 2-1/2 as suggested. No oven cooks the same as another so of course you have to check it early. It was wonderful, tasty and very much like grandma used to make. The only thing that was bad was that now the wife expects me to cook more. DAGNABBIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The rice pudding looked dark, and it had the texture of oatmeal, not a custard, and it tasted too sweet. I was hoping for a milky custard dessert. Perhaps using soy milk changed the recipe to something less than it would have been with regular milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Just made this, super easy! Used half & half, probably a bit mare vanilla and nutmeg, I don't measure a lot. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was horrible and I only cooked 2 hrs. It should not cook more than 1 hr 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Wonderful recipes, just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
followed directions exactly and the rice did not cook thoroughly plus is turned watery after being in the frig 1 day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I think this recipe was great. I did not have raisins so I used dried cranberries but that was the only thing I changed. I loved the texture and it was so easy. I will be making this often I am sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this because I haven't had any in awhile. I just added fig instead of raisins and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I don't know what I did but it turned out horrible. Stirred frequently, put in pan of hot water, covered, used slow oven, baked 2 q
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My husband has been asking me to make rice pudding for 44 years and I followed this recipe exactly. He said it was really good but should have been "sloppier" so I'll add more milk (44 years from now when I make it again! -- just kidding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States