Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I think this recipe was great. I did not have raisins so I used dried cranberries but that was the only thing I changed. I loved the texture and it was so easy. I will be making this often I am sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this because I haven't had any in awhile. I just added fig instead of raisins and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I don't know what I did but it turned out horrible. Stirred frequently, put in pan of hot water, covered, used slow oven, baked 2 q
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My husband has been asking me to make rice pudding for 44 years and I followed this recipe exactly. He said it was really good but should have been "sloppier" so I'll add more milk (44 years from now when I make it again! -- just kidding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe is really, really good! I remembered baked rice pudding as a child & was trying to find something similar to what my Mom made. I used 5 c milk & 3/4 c uncooked white rice and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I baked it for 2 hrs stirring every 10 minutes for the first hour. My whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! However I did modify it. I used 3 cups of milk, and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also increased nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. It also only took 1 1/2 hours in the oven. If I had let it go much longer, it wouldn't have come out right. Anyway it came out perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ducky316

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Just like my grandmother used to make! I am not a fan of the "pudding with rice in it" variety.. this was exactly as I remember it from my childhood. Super delicious and loved by everyone. I made it exactly as the recipe called I just served it with some warm real maple syrup to drizzle over the top before we ate. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCDutcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I made this exactly like recipe said. It was dry, completely hard on the bottom, a complete failure! If I was to make it again, I would put the dish in a pan of water and cook it for less time than directed. It really wasn`t worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I even used a water bath. I stirred it every 10 minutes the first hour, and I even covered it. Very egg-y and not creamy or custard-y. Would not make again. I will make rice pudding next time without the eggs, just evaporated milk, cream, sugar, vanilla, nutmeg & cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, except for omitting the optional raisins. I have never made rice pudding before so I was pretty excited about it, but unhappy with the result. Just like for BTSYLYNN (see other reviews), my milk and egg separated and curdled despite frequent stirring. Too bad I hadn't read the reviews first and seen BTSYLYNN's suggestions! If I make this again, I will try the water bath and maybe add some cream and more spices (more nutmeg, cinnamon) like other reviews suggested. Even with the weird texture, what I ended up with is decent so it might be worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States