Old Fashioned Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Excellent. Everyone thought I bought it from the local Greek Restaurant but I finally told them the truth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rxshirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Depew, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. We do like more cinnamon and that was the only change I made. It wasn't as "eggy" as some. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This recipe did not turn out well for me. I followed the recipe with the exclusion of the Jasmati rice- I used long grain white rice as a substitute. The rice did not cook thoroughly, even though I baked for a total of 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is a good recipe but usually in a traditional rice pudding you would first scald the milk in a saucepan, then slowly add (to ensure that it does not cook the egg while pouring) it to the other ingredients. Also, as other reviewers said, this is a little too sweet, so I recommend 1/4 to 1/3 cup sugar depending on how sweet you prefer your pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I would like to rate this higher, but it was too darn sweet. I made some for my partner, (HE LOVED IT)heck he'll eat anything. My suggestion is to use less sugar then it would be perfect. With any good rice pudding recipe, I've been tickering with different ways in presenting the pudding. I sliced fresh strawberries on top of the pudding and for ultra indulgence fresh whipping cream or a dollop of ice cream. Thanks for posting your recipe, you and your family must have a heck of a sweet tooth! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
OK. Too sweet, too many raisins (never thought I'd say that). I used leftover brown rice, baked for two hours before a butter knife inserted came out clean. I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Pretty good recipe and simple, though I would suggest backing off on the sugar, maybe to 1/3 cup or maybe even 1/4 cup, and lessen the raisins to 2/3 of a cup. Also added several good shakes of cinnamon instead of a pinch and a couple shakes of nutmeg, which added a nice flavor overall. Thank you for a nice recipe for a busy mom :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Yum. I used some golden raisins, and it all turned out tasty. (This uses Jasmati rice, which I've had before just as a side dish. It has a sort of silky texture, and makes the kitchen smell wonderful.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States