Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
my mother-in-law can no longer cook and asked me to fix her husband a raisin pie. i had never made one before but it was a BIG HIT and i was told not to lose the recipe. My husband has just informed me after 32 years of marriage his mom used to make them for him all the time, so, he is next on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVIDJUICER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I made this pie as a special favor for a friend of mine (even though I'd never heard of such a thing)and he said this was the best raisin pie he'd ever eaten. I have a feeling I will get additional requests for it in the future. My only comment is that I would make 1 1/2 to 2 times the filling because I like my fruit pies to be HIGH. I also like to brush the crust with milk and sprinkle with granulated sugar before I bake it. This makes for a very pretty presentation and a tastier "bone".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
A real natural, satisfying, healthy and tasty pie. I ate it cooled (but NOT chilled) yesterday (the day I made it) and it was good. Today, I put it in the warm oven for about 20-30 minutes, and it was wonderful. My family enjoyed it with a scoop of ice-cream and told me it tasted better. A new keeper in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Raisin pie has never been my favourite kind of pie. This recipe has changed all of that for me. It most surely will be a standard on my pie baking days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
If you want raisin pie use this recipe!! I can eat this all of the time! I can't stop eating this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I was given a lot of raisins and had to find a way to use them. Found this recipe two days ago and have just made my second pie. Hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
My dad is from Arkansas and has been searching for a good raisin pie like they make down there. He LOVED THIS PIE! And so easy to make using a ready-made pie crust. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This is a GREAT pie!! My 2 and half year old wanted to eat it for dinner. Very easy and very good. *My daughter is now 4 years old and STILL wants to eat this for dinner*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
This is EXCELLENT raisin pie. I used frozen pie crust and it turned out great. For anyone who has never tried raisin pie, try this one. It is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States