Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this pie for thanksgiving this year. I actually tripled the recipe because i was making a deep dish pie. And it turned out wonderful. I did not make any changes at all and it was so good. It was the first time i made and ate raisin pie, im actually eating a piece now as i type. I made it for my grandmothers whose favorite pie is raisin and they LOVED it. I recommend if you have tried this recipe to do so. Its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is in my oven as we speak--didn't feel the need to change a thing. My first raisin pie, and I was surprised how fast and easy it was to make. By the way, i love old recipes...and this is gonna be in MY family's heirloom recipe box, too!! So Grateful it was submitted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Definitely a great raisin pie! I made this to share with Mom & Dad and they loved it! Using a store bought crust, I found this to be a quick & easy. The recipe is wonderful as written. I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this pie turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I have never had or heard of raisin pie before when a friend of mine commented "don't you just wish you could find raisin pie like mom/grammie used to make"....to which I said..."yuck". After the same fried had a radical surgery and tramatic diagnosis I made this pie for her and took it to her home. She loved it...closed her eyes and said..."it taste's just like my grandmothers". I would consider that a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This raisin pie tasted awesome! The problem I had with it was it was not moist enough. Maybe if I increased everything but the raisins by half ? Any suggestions ?? If I can make it more moist it will be deeeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great pie!!!! Just like Grandma use to make!!! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This pie was exceptional. I did use lemon juice in place of the vinegar and doubled the filling. There would definitely not been enough filling had you followed the recipe. I used a 9 inch pie pan. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My husband was been begging for a raisin pie for his birthday for the past 10 years. I found this one and decided to give it a try. It was wonderful! I was very skeptic of liking it, but I will make it again and again. It was so easy! I did use lemon juice and zest and Iadded Bacardi rum and vanilla extract to the water when I cooked the raisins. I am very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States