Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe so much I double it when making it for a family of four. It is usually consumed within 24 hours. I do add minced garlic to the onions and red pepper flake to the soup. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I added celery to this recipe, because we love celery in soup. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written, and it turned out to be a big hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Bigler Pelkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I added a pinch of herbal seasoning but otherwise made this as-is. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
TO MAKE THIS VEGAN you can sub some things. I cook the potatoes in salted water. Cook just onion on the stove with some canola oil. When onions are done add a few more Tbls of canola oil and flour. Stir in your non flavored almond milk and stir until it boils. Add in your potatoes and season to your liking and you have a great soup! I have now made this many, many times with many variations. I tried it the other day adding a can of veggie broth to the flour/oil mixture and a combo of almond and coconut milk. REALLY good, will now be the variation I use most. The broth adds some flavor and the coconut milk is creamier than just almond milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made as directed, no changes except to add a little chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
excellent recipe! I followed some of the reviews and only used one pot. I diced the carrots extra small (so my picky eaters couldn't pick them out) and sauted them with the onions. I then added 2 cups vegi broth, pepper and potatoes. After the potatoes are cooked i added a bag of frozen broccoli and 3 cups organic half and half. Served it with crumbled bacon and shredded cheese on top. yuuummmmm. definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I used leftover red potatoes and corn on cob from a low country boil. I cut the corn off the cob.I used half & half for 50% of the milk. I also used natural chicken stock instead of bouillon and water. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Excellent soup and sooo easy. I used red potatoes which have the advantage of just having to be scrubbed instead of peeled which saved a lot of time. I used Knoor vegetable bouillon granules which have a lot of flavor. I did not have any dried thyme, so I just omitted it but used fresh parsely. I used some of the cookingwater/broth to add to the flour paste (it didn't specify but otherwise the soup would have been too thick for my taste). At the end I mashed the potatoes inside the pot and it turned out like a chowder. Very yummy. Will definitely make again especially since it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Husband loved it and had 3 helpings and so did daughter. I did not have dried thyme but we like extra pepper-we also used 3 chicken bouillon cubes as I did not have the powder. It was awesome. Just enough for 3 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesley432

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Delicious! I added bacon and 1 extra bouillon cube. I used 3 tbsp of butter and 3 tbsp of bacon grease to cook the onions. I didn't have parsley so I just added 1 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. I don't typically care for potato soup but this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States