Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was very good but I made a few changes. I left out the carrots because I'm not a fan. I also left out the chicken boulion. I added a decent sized clove of garlic, minced, once the onions were translucent. I cooked the onions and garlic in a sweet cream butter instead of margarine. After making the rue and adding the milk, once it thickened some, I added salt and pepper to taste. Then I added the potatoes, not quite cooked all the way and water they were boiled in, into the other pan with the sauce. Simmered that for a few minutes and added the parsley and added a small bunch of green onions, chopped. Then added 2 cups of cheddar cheese and stirred it in until blended and served. Good guide to go by for the method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great potato soup. I made it as directed. I put it in a crock pot to keep it warm until ready to serve. I served it with crumbled bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. Delicious and I will make it agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this many times,the whole family loves it,no modifications needed. Thanks for the perfect recipe:):):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've never made potato soup before and I am so impressed with just how easy something so fabulously tasty can be! I added the celery with leaves as others suggested but left everything else alone. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcowalien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is my favorite potato soup and it's just the way I like it. I have been looking for a recipe for so long that was like this. I used half and half and heavy cream since I happened to have them in the fridge, then thinned it out with water. I left the rest exactly as the recipe called for. Everybody LOVED it! It would be easy to add extra things (corn, celery, ham, etc.) to change it for personal preference. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
So very good, the only thing I added was some cooked bacon and celery for my personal taste. Very good base for other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yum! Few changes: I used chicken stock instead of bouillon powder. I threw some cilantro in there instead of parsley. I also added chicken, because my husband hates it when I don't give him meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Made this for a friend who had sore gums. Boy was it good - will make again for sure. Didn't have fresh carrots so used canned - worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made it just like the recipe but doubled it for leftovers, added ham and it is the best soup I ever had. One thing I did do was use some potato flakes to thicken it a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used almost about a half a cup of flour to thicken up the broth. The soup still had great flavor also used 6 boulioun cubes instead of powder. My family devoured the whole pot. Can't wait to make it again to add a few extras...bacon and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States