Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious...my boyfriend loves it, and I thought the thyme at the end was a bit too much, but it does add a unique and not unpleasant flavor...next time I'll use a smaller pinch. Otherwise, very good soup, and lower in fat using 1% milk, which didn't make it runny at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good, but I made so many changes I'm sure that the flavor was very different...Used yellow, red-skinned potatoes, well-scrubbed and with the skin on. Substituted celery (kept the leaves on, finely chopped) for carrots since I don't like cooked carrots. I added the spices while the onions were cooking to bring out their flavor. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry because I knew once I got going I was going to try to make this more similar to a cream of ___ soup, and curry really enhances cream of ___ soups; I also wanted a little kick so added 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Then I poured in the chicken broth right away rather than at the end, and boiled the potatoes in that, not separately in water. Also, I pureed about 1/2 of the soup and then returned it to give it that creamy texture without all of the calories. I thought it tasted great with a dollup of sour cream and my husband cut 1/2 bratwurst into his. So much for low-cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it many times. The only advice that I can offer is if using dried thyme make sure you us the exact measurement don't just guess, if you use too much it will make the soup taste strange, I often use fresh thyme with great success. I like to add more carrots than the soup calls for to add color. Great recipe, definately helps warm up a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used Chicken Stock instead of the water and bullion cube. I topped it w/ cheddar cheese before eating. It was great, my whole entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I used chicken broth instead of water and olive oil instead of butter. I also used celery and carrots. What a great addition to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This turned out wonderful even though I substituted soy milk for the real milk. I mashed some of the potatoes after they were cooked to make the soup more creamy and thick since soy milk doesn't thicken like cow's milk. This recipe's a keeper - simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have made this several times and my family loves it! Yummy with cheese and bacon on top. I usually boil the potatoes in the same pot with the onion (which I puree and then cook with the butter and some garlic) then puree some of the potatoes to thicken the base a bit before adding the milk. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Delicious soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States