Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious...my boyfriend loves it, and I thought the thyme at the end was a bit too much, but it does add a unique and not unpleasant flavor...next time I'll use a smaller pinch. Otherwise, very good soup, and lower in fat using 1% milk, which didn't make it runny at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good, but I made so many changes I'm sure that the flavor was very different...Used yellow, red-skinned potatoes, well-scrubbed and with the skin on. Substituted celery (kept the leaves on, finely chopped) for carrots since I don't like cooked carrots. I added the spices while the onions were cooking to bring out their flavor. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry because I knew once I got going I was going to try to make this more similar to a cream of ___ soup, and curry really enhances cream of ___ soups; I also wanted a little kick so added 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Then I poured in the chicken broth right away rather than at the end, and boiled the potatoes in that, not separately in water. Also, I pureed about 1/2 of the soup and then returned it to give it that creamy texture without all of the calories. I thought it tasted great with a dollup of sour cream and my husband cut 1/2 bratwurst into his. So much for low-cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it many times. The only advice that I can offer is if using dried thyme make sure you us the exact measurement don't just guess, if you use too much it will make the soup taste strange, I often use fresh thyme with great success. I like to add more carrots than the soup calls for to add color. Great recipe, definately helps warm up a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used Chicken Stock instead of the water and bullion cube. I topped it w/ cheddar cheese before eating. It was great, my whole entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I used chicken broth instead of water and olive oil instead of butter. I also used celery and carrots. What a great addition to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This turned out wonderful even though I substituted soy milk for the real milk. I mashed some of the potatoes after they were cooked to make the soup more creamy and thick since soy milk doesn't thicken like cow's milk. This recipe's a keeper - simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have made this several times and my family loves it! Yummy with cheese and bacon on top. I usually boil the potatoes in the same pot with the onion (which I puree and then cook with the butter and some garlic) then puree some of the potatoes to thicken the base a bit before adding the milk. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Delicious soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States