Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
Fabulous! I added a small can of creamed corn and used about 4 cups of pre-cut hash brown potatoes instead of the 6 potatoes - topped with sour cream, cheese, and Baco Bits - it was, according to my sister, "the best soup I ever tasted!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This has an excellent flavor, so creamy and good. Very easy and fast to make, I'll make this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
I decided to try this recipe because it looked easy, and I was trying to find a close approximation of a corn/potato soup that a friend made for me a while back. I added a package of frozen corn to the recipe.....and it was heavenly! I also tried replacing the carrot with celery, but I didn't like that as much, and neither did the kids. But I say the added corn is a must for a one-dish dinner soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This soup was very tasty and easy to make! My one year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
I have made this for several guests...and they all rave.. I added a little celery to the soup and that seems to go over really well. We serve with crumbled bacon and cheese as well as homemade bread.. a perfect fall supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is sooooo good. I was looking for a great potato soup recipe that was like the one my husband's mother made. He loved this one. I added more pepper and salt and also some dried chopped chives. It was wonderful. I will definitely cook this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is the best potato soup recipe I have made. I added celery and used half-n-half instead of milk and it was very rich and hearty. My family and I loved it! Will recommend to fellow soup lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIZZO72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairway, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This potato soup was delicious! Will definitely make it again and again...Hubby and stepson gave it rave reviews also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
After looking through all those potatoe soup recipes, I am sure glad to have grabbed this one. My son accidently erased it, but my husband had already bokmarked it and saved it with out us knowing. He loved it and ate the whole pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
My husband, mom, step-dad, and I all LOVED this potato soup! My hubby normally doesn't like soup, but he sure devoured it and agreed he loved it! :-) He said it was "RESTAURANT STYLE"! I did add some chopped chives to it and didn't use parsley as I didn't have any on hand, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States