Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good base recipe. Needed chicken bullion for more flavor. I also added some fresh grated Romano cheese to the pot. I also took the advice of other reviewers and added crumbled bacon, cheddar cheese and chopped scallion as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe for potato soup. I will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made tthis once before, and follwed annother cooks advice, only using one pot. It was parvelous! Even the kids liked it! I loaded it up with plenty of celery and carrots..good veges =). Added some crumbled bacon and shreded cheeses. Yum! this time i'm adding lean ground beef, browned. Less potatoes to reduce the carbs for hubby...used 2% evaporated milk, and before it'sall done...gently went thru the pot with a potato masher. Good thing i get to taste test...cause there wont be any leftovers! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been using this recipe for a few years and just love it. I use cauliflower and one potato and also add cubed cooked ham. I add shredded sharp cheddar at the end. YUMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I just made this soup for dinner tonight and I found this to be very quick and easy just what I needed. It is a basic soup but I find that when you have a good base then you add to it what you and your family enjoy. I always add bacon and cheese to mine, thats what my family enjoys. Thanks for the great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was disappointing. The potatoes stayed in firm chunks rather than becoming a thick soup, and the flavor was bland. If you want an excellent potato soup, try Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup if you're ready to go all out, or, for the more calorie conscious, Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup, both on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Simple potato soup but is very much worth making. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Underboss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Made this last night. Needed extra S&P but was wonderful as posted. I will be using this a a base for vegetable soups in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Nice simple soup, I added a little parmesan cheese at the end of cooking and I also sautéed a stalk of celery with the onion. I will defiantly make this soup again. My vegetarian daughter made this soup using veggie stock equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I added some smoked chedder cheese into this recipe and my fiance thinks it totally rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States