Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Excellent soup and sooo easy. I used red potatoes which have the advantage of just having to be scrubbed instead of peeled which saved a lot of time. I used Knoor vegetable bouillon granules which have a lot of flavor. I did not have any dried thyme, so I just omitted it but used fresh parsely. I used some of the cookingwater/broth to add to the flour paste (it didn't specify but otherwise the soup would have been too thick for my taste). At the end I mashed the potatoes inside the pot and it turned out like a chowder. Very yummy. Will definitely make again especially since it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Husband loved it and had 3 helpings and so did daughter. I did not have dried thyme but we like extra pepper-we also used 3 chicken bouillon cubes as I did not have the powder. It was awesome. Just enough for 3 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesley432

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Delicious! I added bacon and 1 extra bouillon cube. I used 3 tbsp of butter and 3 tbsp of bacon grease to cook the onions. I didn't have parsley so I just added 1 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. I don't typically care for potato soup but this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I added just about a Tbsp of bacon bits for a little extra flavor. LOVED this recipe. Super easy and the kids actually ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandygtz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great! Added ham and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAFLUTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good base recipe. Needed chicken bullion for more flavor. I also added some fresh grated Romano cheese to the pot. I also took the advice of other reviewers and added crumbled bacon, cheddar cheese and chopped scallion as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe for potato soup. I will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made tthis once before, and follwed annother cooks advice, only using one pot. It was parvelous! Even the kids liked it! I loaded it up with plenty of celery and carrots..good veges =). Added some crumbled bacon and shreded cheeses. Yum! this time i'm adding lean ground beef, browned. Less potatoes to reduce the carbs for hubby...used 2% evaporated milk, and before it'sall done...gently went thru the pot with a potato masher. Good thing i get to taste test...cause there wont be any leftovers! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I have been using this recipe for a few years and just love it. I use cauliflower and one potato and also add cubed cooked ham. I add shredded sharp cheddar at the end. YUMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I just made this soup for dinner tonight and I found this to be very quick and easy just what I needed. It is a basic soup but I find that when you have a good base then you add to it what you and your family enjoy. I always add bacon and cheese to mine, thats what my family enjoys. Thanks for the great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States