Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I just make this for lunch, and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is an easy tasty recipe. I choose to add a healthy twist by adding bite size Broccoli tops in the last step. Like most cooking, I had to alter the spices to taste, but will definatly be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
this was wonderful. I put thinly sliced carrots and celery in with the potatoes with chicken broth instead of water and then put the onions and butter and milk into that after it thickened and veggies were cooked. also I put 1 tbs crumbled cooked bacon in with the onions. very good. It might be good with rivels too. put 1 egg into a cup of flour till crumbly and drop by tsps into hot boiling broth. I might do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was very good but I made a few changes. I left out the carrots because I'm not a fan. I also left out the chicken boulion. I added a decent sized clove of garlic, minced, once the onions were translucent. I cooked the onions and garlic in a sweet cream butter instead of margarine. After making the rue and adding the milk, once it thickened some, I added salt and pepper to taste. Then I added the potatoes, not quite cooked all the way and water they were boiled in, into the other pan with the sauce. Simmered that for a few minutes and added the parsley and added a small bunch of green onions, chopped. Then added 2 cups of cheddar cheese and stirred it in until blended and served. Good guide to go by for the method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great potato soup. I made it as directed. I put it in a crock pot to keep it warm until ready to serve. I served it with crumbled bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. Delicious and I will make it agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this many times,the whole family loves it,no modifications needed. Thanks for the perfect recipe:):):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've never made potato soup before and I am so impressed with just how easy something so fabulously tasty can be! I added the celery with leaves as others suggested but left everything else alone. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcowalien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is my favorite potato soup and it's just the way I like it. I have been looking for a recipe for so long that was like this. I used half and half and heavy cream since I happened to have them in the fridge, then thinned it out with water. I left the rest exactly as the recipe called for. Everybody LOVED it! It would be easy to add extra things (corn, celery, ham, etc.) to change it for personal preference. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
So very good, the only thing I added was some cooked bacon and celery for my personal taste. Very good base for other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Yum! Few changes: I used chicken stock instead of bouillon powder. I threw some cilantro in there instead of parsley. I also added chicken, because my husband hates it when I don't give him meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States