Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Easy to make and tasty. Enjoyed the leftovers even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilmrshaynes
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was great! I used 3 bouillon cubes. I softened the onion in butter, added potatoes and carrots and let cook for a minute while stirring. I added water, added 2 cups milk and whisked last cup milk with 4 tbsp flour in separate bowl then added into soup. I added salt and pepper and just a sprinkle of thyme. It is a great soup for a cold, snowy day like today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I am a Mother of two boys and a little girl, all of whom are EXTREMELY picky eaters. However I hit gold with this recipe! Easy to and quick to make, it's just perfect for cold rainy days, sick days or just in the mood for a great soup day! This is now a must have on our menu. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolescookin'
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Well, I (accidentally) used double the butter! Yum. Not low calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was so good on a cold rainy night. I didn't have any carrots or dried parsley so I just made it without, topped with green onions, sour cream and bacon bits this soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I followed recipe and it was delicious!!! Served it over some toasted sourdough bread chunks, my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was the second time that I have made this recipe and it was a hit both times. I added 1/2 lb of turkey sausage this time & a bit more flour. Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Good base recipe, I added celery, kale, red pepper flakes and fresh garlic and used 4 chicken cubes and 4 cups of milk because it was just a tad thicker then I like. Topped w/ cheddar cheese. The thyme was a new change for me, its different but I like it :). I would use a little less onion next time and add bacon (didnt have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal42683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing soup! Loved how it was simple yet amazingly delicious. It is also surprisingly hardy..filled both my boyfriend and I right up with one bowl. Added some corn and red pepper flakes for spice..which I thought made it even more spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
very good, basic recipe, flexible for personal tastes, adding seasonings and spices to taste won't be overpowering. i used golddust potatoes. also, i used cornstarch instead of flour. will adjust for a thicker broth in the future. i used the settings to adjust for 8 ppl b/c my family likes to eat, and it'll be good for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shymama8

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States