Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this exactly as written and it came fantastic...very delicious. I would like to try it again and put either crabmeat or sausage bits into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Delicious! We like our potato soup a little thicker so after I cooked the potatoes I mashed them just a bit. Didn't put quite as much onion in. Other than that kept everything the same and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
An absolute hit! This is an easy and versatile recipe. We didn't use carrots or the seasonings, but topped it with cheese, bacon crumbles and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I can 'feel' my Grandmother when I eat this soup. I've searched a long time for the recipe I remember as a child and this one is the closest ever. I made it exactly as written here and it's excellent. I agree you could vary the ingredients and have a successful soup but this one is just exceptional and so quick and simple I'll use it in my kitchen from today onwards. Thank you Cyd! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This soup tasted great! My whole family loved it...though we had to throw most of it away 'cause it turned out I had used a rotten onion. *sigh* What a waste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Just made this soup and is very tasty...I substituted milk with Pet evaporated milk. I added Celery (leaves included), broccoli floweretes (as I love broccoli)and sauteed with the onions and I used straight Chicken Broth in lieu of Chicken bouillon..I did not use Parsley and Thyme at all...Don't think its needed...I made homemade croutons seasoned with garlic/butter/and parsley..Topped the soup with chopped green onions, bacon bits, cheese, and croutons....It was very good and the family loved it...I didn't add flour to the onions/broccoli/and celery...I added flour last to the soup by mixing the flour with cold water real good, then added to soup. I mixed one Tablespoon of flour into soup at a time so as to reach the consistency of thickness I wanted because of using Pet evaporated milk as its thicker than milk. Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Yuuuummmmmyyyy! My family loved this soup. Don't use amount of dry parsley as called for, really overpowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Thank you for this recipe. I didn't have the chicken bouillon so I added some salt to this. I didn't add the parsley or thyme either. With all that it was still wonderful. Definite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Absolutely delicious! The best potato soup recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This turned out great. I added ham and it was a big hit. Thanks Cyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States