Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Yummy! I added in lotsa black pepper to my soup, just because I love pepper. A good creamy hearty soup for my wintery days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It's the thyme that makes this recipe so good. I think the chicken broth version tastes a lot better than the vegetarian version using veggie stock. I thought both versions were good though. This is a recipe that is in regular rotation in my household. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very easy to make and tastes great. Next time I make it I will add a little seasoning to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
EXCELLENT...what else can I say!! Made this for supper tonight & my husband said, it was just like what he remembered as a kid! Thanks for a great recipe. mhall56
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casey, Illinois, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Excellent soup! I didn't have enough milk, so, like another reviewer, I used a can of evaporated milk. I think that actually made it more creamy. I, too, sauted one celery stalk (with the leafy top) with my onion. A great soup, thanks Cyd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I didn't have chicken boullion so I used one can of chicken broth, and added half of a vegetable broth cube to the water, broth, vegetable mixture. I also used a can of evaporated milk with the regular milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I love this recipe, super easy. The only thing I reccomend is increasing the water to 4 cups and decreasing the milk to 2. Also, instead of chicken buillon use vegetable stock. I also didn't bother with the thyme and parsley. This recipe is a guaranteed success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Thanks for the great soup recipe! I added garlic and celery and mashed the cooked potatoes, as others did. I always have trouble making a roux, so I had to run the flour mixture through a sieve (I had already removed the onion from the pan). Mostly I left the rest the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent... we added broccoli, cauliflower & SHRIMP. Try it!!! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Let me say that I was skeptical about the outcome of this recipe....I was wooried that it wasn't going to turn out right...It turned out fabulous!! My husband commented all throughout dinner how much he liked the soup....I took the advice of others and sauted some celery with the leaves along with the margarine and onions....and I diced up some baby carrots with my chopper to cook along with the potatoes....and I topped the soup with some crumbled bacon and cheese...just needed to add a bit of salt....WONDERFUL!!! Will be making again and again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCRABBY2U2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States