Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very easy to make and tastes great. Next time I make it I will add a little seasoning to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
EXCELLENT...what else can I say!! Made this for supper tonight & my husband said, it was just like what he remembered as a kid! Thanks for a great recipe. mhall56
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casey, Illinois, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Excellent soup! I didn't have enough milk, so, like another reviewer, I used a can of evaporated milk. I think that actually made it more creamy. I, too, sauted one celery stalk (with the leafy top) with my onion. A great soup, thanks Cyd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I didn't have chicken boullion so I used one can of chicken broth, and added half of a vegetable broth cube to the water, broth, vegetable mixture. I also used a can of evaporated milk with the regular milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I love this recipe, super easy. The only thing I reccomend is increasing the water to 4 cups and decreasing the milk to 2. Also, instead of chicken buillon use vegetable stock. I also didn't bother with the thyme and parsley. This recipe is a guaranteed success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Thanks for the great soup recipe! I added garlic and celery and mashed the cooked potatoes, as others did. I always have trouble making a roux, so I had to run the flour mixture through a sieve (I had already removed the onion from the pan). Mostly I left the rest the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent... we added broccoli, cauliflower & SHRIMP. Try it!!! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Let me say that I was skeptical about the outcome of this recipe....I was wooried that it wasn't going to turn out right...It turned out fabulous!! My husband commented all throughout dinner how much he liked the soup....I took the advice of others and sauted some celery with the leaves along with the margarine and onions....and I diced up some baby carrots with my chopper to cook along with the potatoes....and I topped the soup with some crumbled bacon and cheese...just needed to add a bit of salt....WONDERFUL!!! Will be making again and again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCRABBY2U2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Made this last night and consumed 3 cups myself, can't wait to try it again today. Followed the receipe, but added 4 crushed garlic cloves and a touch of red pepper flakes. Also used the boat blender to partialy break down some of the potatoe carrot mixture to give a thicker base. The onion, butter flour roux is an important step and I wouldn't want to add the flour to the liquid portion as you would get the uncooked flour flavor. This is a great basic soup which can be altered in many directions. It tastes many times better than it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wurgler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this exactly as written and it came fantastic...very delicious. I would like to try it again and put either crabmeat or sausage bits into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States