Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Excellent soup, very stable, very easy to make! No problems with it, its some of the best soup I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This has become my little black dress of creamy soups and it's never failed me. It's a solid base that you can accessorize however you wish. The first time I made this I sauteed with olive oil rather than butter, and I replaced water for whey leftover from making cheese (with non-fat powdered milk, no less). It was hands-down the best potato soup I've ever had, and not a soul would believe it didn't have butter (and lots of fat) in it. Even better the second time around. Realize here that you're making a roux - if you don't know about roux it's worth looking up so you understand how it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
My search for a good potato soup recipe is over. Thanks! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Of all the cream of potato soups, this is the best one. I use homemade veggie stock and it makes it EVEN better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made a vegetarian version of this soup, with a few changes here and there. I added Indian spices to the onion roux and it turned out phenomenally! I used yukon golds, leaving the skin on, and processed a few cups of the potato/carrot mixture to make the final product extra creamy. Great recipe, I will be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
mmm mmm GREAT! i made a few changes and it turned out wonderfully! i used 8 potatoes instead of 6 because a few were on the small side. i also added an extra carrot, 2 stalks of chopped celery and some fresh, sliced mushrooms. to compensate for the extra vegetables i used an extra cup of water and an additional 1/2 cup of milk. i also used mushroom flavored "better than bullion" and threw in some extra spices for flavor. it made WAY more than 6 servings. i'd say about 12, but it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My family and I loved this soup! I followed the directions almost exactly, and it turned out great. I was looking for a simple, old fashioned potato soup recipe, and this is it. It looked pretty and tasted delicious! I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I was very skeptical the entire time I was cooking this. The recipe does not specify to dice the onions, firstly, and then it probably ought to say that the roux mixture needs to thicken rather than just saying "until warmed through". And so I had little hope for this soup...BUT, it was GREAT!! I hoped for a creamier soup and so I ran about 2 cups through the blender and then I also took another reviewer's advice and added a can of corn, but my review of 5 stars stands before the corn was added (that was just an afterthought...it is not needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This soup was just ok. I used fresh parsley instead of dried, and real butter in place of margarine. After adding additional bouillon and sprinkling some sharp cheddar on top there still wasn't as much flavor as I was hoping for. It still made a very pleasant supper. Maybe I should have let the roux get a little toastier?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was really, really good. I think I upped the carrots a bit and upped the chicken bullion a little, but this was just the potato soup recipe I was looking for-- one without heavy cream or bacon! I used lactose-free milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States