Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was delicious! I substituted with what was on hand and it was really easy and good. Will definitely use this as the base of many more soups. Thanks for making a cold December day a bit warmer :=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is the best potato soup I have ever tried! I did add 2 teaspoons of salt for a little extra flavoring - worked wonders and we never have any left! Neighbors and family members request this soup at gatherings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
It was simple and tasted good. I didn't have parsely.but it was ok.I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My life wouldn't be complete without this recipe! I have made it a hundred times and shared it with so many friends. I make it a touch healthier by replacing the butter wi olive oil and using non-fat milk. I also add celery and dill(because I love dill). Is really a blank canvas that you can do a little different every time. I serve it with grilled cheese and tomato bacon sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very yummmy! Perfect for a cold winter day. I never change a thing when I review a recipe, and didn't make an exception here. Great as is. For those who MUST post their changes, Allrecipes also has an option to post your own, go there first! This was great, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thermopolis, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Burlingame, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Comfort food at its best! This is the best homemade potato soup I've ever had and first I've ever made. The only thing I really needed to do was liberally add salt. A little bland for me in the beginning but after adding salt all the flavors came out made my taste buds happy! I also added two more carrots for color and taste and added a few dashes of garlic powder. I might even add some garlic cloves next time to the onions. (I LOVE garlic in everything.) I don't own two large stock pots so I had to compensate. After cooking the onion (oh, and I used real butter, not margarine which is bad for you...use olive oil if you're scared of butter) I threw in the carrots and potatoes and only used about 2 cups of water. I added the chicken stock base (plus an extra Tbsp.), stirred well, and let simmer for about 10 minutes. In a seperate bowl I whisked together 1 cup whole milk, 1 cup half and half, and about 5 tbsp flour. I then added that mixture to the potatoes and sprinkled in the thyme and parsley and let sit on very low heat for a while to allow the flavors to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Great base soup but here's what I did: INGREDIENTS • 1 stick butter • 2 large onion • 5 potatoes, peeled and diced • 1 canned New Potato • 15 baby carrots, diced • 3-4 cups chicken stock • 1 chicken bouillon cube • 3 T black pepper • 2 t salt • 6 T all-purpose flour • 3 cups 2% milk • ¼ cup Real Bacon Bits • 1 cup mild shred. cheddar cheese • 2 T tarragon • 4 T dried chives (or fresh) • 4 T dried parsley (or fresh) DIRECTIONS 1. In a large stock pot melt the butter add the onions and cook over medium heat until the onions are translucent. 2. While the onions are cooking, place the diced potatoes (add canned potatoes once the other potatoes and carrots are cooked- New Potatoes are already cooked), carrots, chicken stock, and chicken bouillon cube in another stock pot and bring to a boil. Cook until tender, about 10 minutes. Do not over cook. Season with ground black pepper and salt to taste. 3. Add the flour to the cooked onions to make a paste. Gradually add the milk and stir well. Cook over medium-low heat until thickens. Then add bacon bits, cheese, parsley, chives, tarragon. Add the potato and carrot mixture. Serve hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Wonderful! My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
The first time I made this it wasn't creamy enough. So the next time I made it I cooked the onions, flour and milk longer until it was thick, then added it to the potato and carrot mixture. It was much creamier and my family really likes it. I will keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m.alliston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States