Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good, but I made so many changes I'm sure that the flavor was very different...Used yellow, red-skinned potatoes, well-scrubbed and with the skin on. Substituted celery (kept the leaves on, finely chopped) for carrots since I don't like cooked carrots. I added the spices while the onions were cooking to bring out their flavor. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry because I knew once I got going I was going to try to make this more similar to a cream of ___ soup, and curry really enhances cream of ___ soups; I also wanted a little kick so added 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Then I poured in the chicken broth right away rather than at the end, and boiled the potatoes in that, not separately in water. Also, I pureed about 1/2 of the soup and then returned it to give it that creamy texture without all of the calories. I thought it tasted great with a dollup of sour cream and my husband cut 1/2 bratwurst into his. So much for low-cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made it many times. The only advice that I can offer is if using dried thyme make sure you us the exact measurement don't just guess, if you use too much it will make the soup taste strange, I often use fresh thyme with great success. I like to add more carrots than the soup calls for to add color. Great recipe, definately helps warm up a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used Chicken Stock instead of the water and bullion cube. I topped it w/ cheddar cheese before eating. It was great, my whole entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very good. I used chicken broth instead of water and olive oil instead of butter. I also used celery and carrots. What a great addition to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This turned out wonderful even though I substituted soy milk for the real milk. I mashed some of the potatoes after they were cooked to make the soup more creamy and thick since soy milk doesn't thicken like cow's milk. This recipe's a keeper - simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have made this several times and my family loves it! Yummy with cheese and bacon on top. I usually boil the potatoes in the same pot with the onion (which I puree and then cook with the butter and some garlic) then puree some of the potatoes to thicken the base a bit before adding the milk. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Delicious soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was delicious! I substituted with what was on hand and it was really easy and good. Will definitely use this as the base of many more soups. Thanks for making a cold December day a bit warmer :=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is the best potato soup I have ever tried! I did add 2 teaspoons of salt for a little extra flavoring - worked wonders and we never have any left! Neighbors and family members request this soup at gatherings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States