Old-Fashioned Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This really taste like what my mom use to make. We did add more bacon to our servings, but we like bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can't cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Oh! My goodness. This is a keeper. It was easy and fast and besides I had everything in my pantry. I added ground turkey meat to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent soup! Made it just as written. This would be great to add crab or lobster into it. Probably will add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good once salt is added. I didn't have chicken boullion, so I used 6 vegetable boullion cubes. Also, I used soy milk and still my son, a soy milk hater, loved it. I first rated this a "4," but had to change it to a "5" when I realized we were disappointed when we ran out of soup! Definitely will be in rotation all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I thought this soup was great!! My whole family loved it and my husband said that it was just like his moms. So I gave it a 5 stars b/c it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I have to rate this 5 stars along with the other reviews. I made it exactly like the receipe, except that I mixed milks. I didn't have alot of regular milk, so I used a cup of whole milk, 1 1/2 cups of evaporated milk, and 1/2 cup of skim milk. I have never made potato soup before, but with all the mmmmmm's and ahhhhhh's at dinner tonight, I will definitely be making it again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susannb
Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious...my boyfriend loves it, and I thought the thyme at the end was a bit too much, but it does add a unique and not unpleasant flavor...next time I'll use a smaller pinch. Otherwise, very good soup, and lower in fat using 1% milk, which didn't make it runny at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good, but I made so many changes I'm sure that the flavor was very different...Used yellow, red-skinned potatoes, well-scrubbed and with the skin on. Substituted celery (kept the leaves on, finely chopped) for carrots since I don't like cooked carrots. I added the spices while the onions were cooking to bring out their flavor. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry because I knew once I got going I was going to try to make this more similar to a cream of ___ soup, and curry really enhances cream of ___ soups; I also wanted a little kick so added 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Then I poured in the chicken broth right away rather than at the end, and boiled the potatoes in that, not separately in water. Also, I pureed about 1/2 of the soup and then returned it to give it that creamy texture without all of the calories. I thought it tasted great with a dollup of sour cream and my husband cut 1/2 bratwurst into his. So much for low-cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States