Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe although I was out of celery salt & I added extra eggs & mayo, I think it's a southern thing, but my family & I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jr.
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I will use this recipe again. I chopped the potatoes first, adding garlic salt for flavor and vinegar to the water so they don't overcook. I only used 4 potatoes. Turned out a little extra saucy, which is fine. And I added some dill weed. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Too bland, too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This was a wonderful recipe. It reminded me of the potato salad my aunt used to make when I was growing up. I only made one change by doubling the amount of mayo used. Other than that, I made it exactly by the recipe. This was an easy recipe to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
The only thing I do differently is blend the mustard & mayo salt & pepper (might add a touch of milk to make it creamier) and pour it over the potatoes & eggs so they don't take such a beating with all the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
yes, I made it tonight. It is now chilling in the fridge. I tasted it and loved it. I used red potatoes and cooked them way past what the recipe said, b/c I forgot they were still boiling. Having read some of the negative reviews, I am glad I didn't undercook them. I had only 2 eggs, so that's what's in it. All the rest of the ingred. I had, except the celery seed. I'm sure it will be great tomorrow. Thanks for a good recipe. I read someone thought it needed sugar! EWW, no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I made this adjusting qty to taste. At the end I thought it was missing something so I added some red wine vinegar and that fixed it. It is now chilling in the fridge and I can't wait to dig in. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
A little bit of vinegar to this recipe it would give it a boost. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I made this and I love it. I did add extra mayo, and about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt, a splash of agave syrup and about 1/4 tsp of paprika. I put 1 egg onto the salad and sliced 2 eggs and layed them across the top, sprinkled with paprika. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
My family does not like relish so I've omitted that but a friend's mother added an item I've now used also - peeled and sliced and diced cucumber. Along with the celery it adds a nice crunch and a very good flavor. Have never seen this in any potato salad recipe but recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States