Old Fashioned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent classic recipe. I added bacon and a little more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe. Of course I had to make changes. I dropped the celery altogether, simply because my roommate and I do not care for it that much. I also used russet potatoes; I don't think the recipe specified which type of potatoes to use. I read that russets are higher in starch and so cook more quickly...so I kept an I on them and removed the smaller ones first. Now for the big changes! I sauteed some onions and a chopped clove of garlic together until soft. I used more eggs than the recipe called for. I also allowed all ingredients to cool before mixing together....I think this made a big difference as well. Also used Dill relish not sweet relish! Since I added garlic I also added a couple of tablespoons of parmesan cheese. More mayo than mustard. I just eyeballed the ingredients. Seasoned with black pepper and Creole seasoning. This was my first attempt at making a potato salad but it turned out nearly the best I've ever eaten! What a great, informative, simple potato salad recipe. The recipe was easy to follow and it was simple to add or omit ingredients to taste. Good job jewellkay!!! -DustBuk3t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
ok but potatoes were too hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is a pretty standard recipe that can be altered so many ways that the rating doesn't matter if you changed it. I used chopped up Tony Packo's sweet hot pickles with some of the juice as the relish, added dill, celery salt and omitted onion. You cannot really screw up potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Ann Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I cook potatoes in skins and the eggs together. This saves vitamins and minerals from the potato. When done, peel and cut into pieces. I added a little sugar, onion powder, lemon juice(a splash)to the rest of the ingredients and I use only Helmann's mayo. I don't like pickle relish or mustard in potato salad so left it out. Also the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My family loved it. Followed recipe exactly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Lambert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Love it!!! I just don't like relish, so I omit. Also I double up on the awesome recipe re. dressing the potatoes!! Otherwise, it's fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I doubled the mayo and mustard. Makes a small batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Just made it. The potato salad had good flavor, but was dry. I added another cup of goat yogurt and some celtic salt. Voila, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States