Old Fashioned Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Good standard kugel recipe. Make sure you squeeze out the moisture from the shredded potatoes and onions before adding the eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Hi - I'm the recipe submitter. I just noticed that a reviewer says you should squeeze out the moisture from the potatoes and onions. While most potatoes kugels include this step, one of this recipe's secrets is that you keep the moisture in - it makes for an exceptionally moist kugel. So leave it all in, even it the mixture looks watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is great! I made this for Passover and substituted some celery root so it was about 50/50 with the potatoes. It helps cut down the glycemic index and also adds vitamin K, not to mention some great flavor. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKandi007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
It can't get much easier than this, and delicious too! Shredded onions, then potatoes in processor with fine shredder. Changed to the blade, added everything else, a few pulses and WAH-LAH it was done. I did however bake it in an oiled 9x13 that was heated first, before putting the mixture in a 400 deg. oven for 1 hour. Tasted it as soon as it came out of the oven & it was TDF, with a very crispy brown top and a creamy inside. Had to go to another room before I would eat it all. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Made this for Passover and it reminded a friend of her grandmother's; it made her teary! Everyone enjoyed it. I made it exactly as the recipe directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
It was just wonderful. I changed the recipe a bit. I shredded the potatoes and onions in my food processor. They looked like hash brown potatoes. Also I used my convection oven. The oven temp I lowered to 325. It only took 40 minutes to cook. Crispey and moist. Would make it again. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Found it too salty the first time I made it. With only 1 tsp of salt I liked it MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Yep - potato kugel! I only had one onion to grate so I added some onion powder to compensate. I also added garlic powder - I think a tspn of each. I strained the spuds and onion just a bit (not as much as when making latkes). Baked at 400* for an hour made it pretty dark on top. Good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was a very good and very easy recipe. I have never made a potato kugel before but this was delicious. That being said, I have to say it was the most unattractive recipe I ever made. I do not need my food to be pretty but it should at least look appealing. The potatoes turned grey from oxidization, obviously this is no fault to anyone except the potato ;o) A friend told me that I should soak the grated potatoes in milk to prevent them from changing color. I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
In order to keep the potatoes white, alternate potatoes and onion when shredding in the food processor. It does the trick! Mine came out creamy colored and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States