Old Fashioned Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly, and was so pleased. The result is creamy and well-balanced. The top was a little grey (as someone had mentioned), but really, who cares? This stuff is YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Delicious. Because I kept the potatoes in water while they were waiting to be grated, I poured off about half a cup of liquid before baking, but it still came out wonderfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed some of the other suggestions that were made in other reviews and the kugel came out fabulous. I soaked the potatoes in cold water prior to cutting and shredding and rotated them with the shredding of the onions. This kept the kugel very white. I also broiled the top for the first 10 minutes and then baked the rest of the way as stated in the recipe. However, an hour into baking, I realized that I never added the vegetable oil to the egg mixture! The kugel came out great - super tasty and with less fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made this last night as a trial for Rosh Hashannah. Does not taste like a proper kugel...more like hash browns. The onions are overpowering. If you make this, I strongly recommend draining the potatos & onions and even more strongly recommend you don't make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My old family recipe agrees with the submitter's version, don't drain the liquid because it adds so much flavor and the additional potato starch makes a real difference. I made one kugel exactly per the recipe and a second with the addition of one third cup of matzo meal, both were excellent wit the second being a tad drier. The drier version worked well with brisket and the creamier version was perfect on its own. Thanks for a great trip down memory lane. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigh K
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was very good, but was missing something. My family did enjoy it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I thought this was pretty decent, but lacked a little in flavor. Went very well though with the Slow Cooker Salibury Steak from this site. I cut this down to 5 servings for my husband and I. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
My mother-in-law made the best potato kugel I ever ate. She would NOT share her recipe with anyone. My husband and sons loved it, and I tried over the years to duplicate it without success. This recipe comes closest. One trick she had that I do know is to broil the kugel for 5 to 7 minutes before baking. I broil it with the plan close to the broiler element, then lower the heat and move the pan down to the middle rack. Give a beautiful top and bottom crust with a creamy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
In order to keep the potatoes white, alternate potatoes and onion when shredding in the food processor. It does the trick! Mine came out creamy colored and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was a very good and very easy recipe. I have never made a potato kugel before but this was delicious. That being said, I have to say it was the most unattractive recipe I ever made. I do not need my food to be pretty but it should at least look appealing. The potatoes turned grey from oxidization, obviously this is no fault to anyone except the potato ;o) A friend told me that I should soak the grated potatoes in milk to prevent them from changing color. I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States