Old Fashioned Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Great gluten free recipe. Added more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Colby Barr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is my family's recipe too! It's the same recipe I use for Chanukah latkes. If you have extra batter, try baking some in a muffin tin (spray or oil first) - we always loved that as kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was good, but it a little greasy. It also had little bit of a weird flavor. However. It does have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have made this several times and each time it is a hit. Just today I made it for a brunch instead of having to mess with home fries and there was none left. I don't change anything except I usually pulse the onion until it is chopped very fine rather than grate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
MY HUSBAND EATS IT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe. Easy to follow. I added four large carrots (shredded) to add a bit of color and flavor. I cooked for 90 minutes (at 325) with a turkey breast and 30 minutes (at 375) without the turkey. The kugel came out just perfect, including a slightly browned top. And, it was wonderful to eat it cold the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
All I can say is OMG!!! Potato Kugel is one of the few recipes I didn't get from my grandmother before she passed away. This tastes just like it! I did add some matzo meal - about 3/4 cup - just to help bind it and it was perfect. And BTW, when I make potato latkes, I don't drain the potato/onion liquid either. They're more moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheatreCrazyRedhead

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I make this at least twice a year - Rosh Hashannah and Pesach. Everyone raves over it. It couldn't be any easier. And you must leave all the liquid in that just makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Sock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Good, but a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a kugel that was so easy to prepare & came out excellent. In the REFRIGERATED section of the supermarket I bought 2 bags of Crystal Farms Simply Potatoes, Shredded Hash Browns (no excess water, no excess work). Used a very large Spanish Onion and I used peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil. Because a 9x13 pan would have made too much for just me and my husband, I used 2 disposable alumiminum 9" round pans greased very well with the p. oil. One for now & one for later. Grated onion in food processor then added eggs (beaten)oil, salt, pepper and one bag of potatoes. Pulsed 'till mixed NOT OVERMIXED. Transfered to a large bowl & added 2nd bag of potatoes as is, mixed by hand until all ingredients incorporated. Divided in the two pans.Fluffed top with a fork so shredded potatoes could crisp up. Placed on cookie sheet. Placed in preheated 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, then lowered to 350 for 1 hour until nicely browned and crisp on top. May need additional 20-30 minutes depending on your oven. My husband couldn't wait to eat it because it smelled fabulous while baking. He ate it hot out of the oven. Tasted better to me when cooled. Crisp on top and softer in the middle. REALLY DELICIOUS and so very easy to prepare. I have no alternative to suggest if you can't find the refrigerated shredded potatoes except to do it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States