Old Fashioned Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
MY HUSBAND EATS IT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe. Easy to follow. I added four large carrots (shredded) to add a bit of color and flavor. I cooked for 90 minutes (at 325) with a turkey breast and 30 minutes (at 375) without the turkey. The kugel came out just perfect, including a slightly browned top. And, it was wonderful to eat it cold the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
All I can say is OMG!!! Potato Kugel is one of the few recipes I didn't get from my grandmother before she passed away. This tastes just like it! I did add some matzo meal - about 3/4 cup - just to help bind it and it was perfect. And BTW, when I make potato latkes, I don't drain the potato/onion liquid either. They're more moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheatreCrazyRedhead

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I make this at least twice a year - Rosh Hashannah and Pesach. Everyone raves over it. It couldn't be any easier. And you must leave all the liquid in that just makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Sock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Good, but a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a kugel that was so easy to prepare & came out excellent. In the REFRIGERATED section of the supermarket I bought 2 bags of Crystal Farms Simply Potatoes, Shredded Hash Browns (no excess water, no excess work). Used a very large Spanish Onion and I used peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil. Because a 9x13 pan would have made too much for just me and my husband, I used 2 disposable alumiminum 9" round pans greased very well with the p. oil. One for now & one for later. Grated onion in food processor then added eggs (beaten)oil, salt, pepper and one bag of potatoes. Pulsed 'till mixed NOT OVERMIXED. Transfered to a large bowl & added 2nd bag of potatoes as is, mixed by hand until all ingredients incorporated. Divided in the two pans.Fluffed top with a fork so shredded potatoes could crisp up. Placed on cookie sheet. Placed in preheated 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, then lowered to 350 for 1 hour until nicely browned and crisp on top. May need additional 20-30 minutes depending on your oven. My husband couldn't wait to eat it because it smelled fabulous while baking. He ate it hot out of the oven. Tasted better to me when cooled. Crisp on top and softer in the middle. REALLY DELICIOUS and so very easy to prepare. I have no alternative to suggest if you can't find the refrigerated shredded potatoes except to do it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Scaled this down to one egg since I was cooking for myself. This made for a good side dish with pork steak. Used red onion because that's what I had, and three little potatoes. Really good. Definitely will make again. Since I made so little, it spread over the bottom of the pan in a thin layer, and I folded it into three like how you would an omelette for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good and very easy. My family loved it. Mom used to use the boxed potato pancake mix, but this is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is how I make my potato kugel, but I don't add oil to the mixture. I usually add as many eggs as potatoes instead. Grated potatoes and onions with salt, pepper and eggs always turns out great. Add garlic for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I thought this was really, really good. It got some mixed reviews, but it may be because I used two very large onions. I thought it resembled a creamy latke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States