Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made these potato cakes to go with roast pork loin and sauerkraut - definitely a winner! I did reduce the flour to 1/2 cup and used less oil as others suggested and these came out perfect. I will probably add a bit more salt and pepper next time. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good! No one had ever had them before, as I don't recall ever having leftover mashed potatoes before, and I wouldn't originally thought to make mashed potatoes just for potato pancakes. Everyone loved them and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Pretty good, and tasted like what I remember potato pancakes tasting like. Found them to be rather thick; would most likely make the pancakes half the size/thickness next time. These went well with applesauce and sour cream (not at the same time). I would add extra salt and pepper and probably some parsley, as the flavor was just slightly lacking compared to what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Completely bland and too oily. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy7972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My husband is a very picky eater. I made these tonight and he loved them. I did make a few changes. I used less flour, just enough oil to coat the pan. I also added 1 tsp of baking powder. VERY GOOD! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
My family loved them. Only thing I added was some seasonings per our families tastes (Emeril Essence, some garlic salt, onion powder). I didn't measure the oil, just coated bottom of pan. Kept them warm in the oven til served. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very nice! Would make these again, skipped the vegetable oil and used Pam - sprayed both sides; spray the pan, then put the cakes in and then spray the tops. I keep them warm in the oven on a cookie sheet until I am ready to serve, cooked them in batches of 5. My new go to recipe for potato cakes! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Perfect breakfast. Made with garlic rosemary potatoes from last night. A dollop of sour cream on top and these were perfect. Used a bit less flour and they were very stiff but cooked up nice. My 1 1/2 year old made yummy noises as he ate his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent use for mashed potato leftovers. We make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought it tasted a bit dough-y... maybe too much flour? I may try them again with less flour and add cheese and bacon crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States