Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Perfect breakfast. Made with garlic rosemary potatoes from last night. A dollop of sour cream on top and these were perfect. Used a bit less flour and they were very stiff but cooked up nice. My 1 1/2 year old made yummy noises as he ate his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent use for mashed potato leftovers. We make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought it tasted a bit dough-y... maybe too much flour? I may try them again with less flour and add cheese and bacon crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Added additional seasoning (garlic and hot sauce). No onion, subbed onion powder. Also used less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoftballMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yummy! Great way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love the taste of these, and they are so simple and easy to make. I had some leftover mashed potatoes that i needed to use and i find this recipe. This was the first time that i have ever had this and i must say they were good and the family loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These were delicious! The only things I added were garlic powder and an extra egg(as some previous reviewers did). I felt the extra egg made them difficult to handle and shape. Next time I will try them with just the one egg as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Sauteed the onions first with garlic and added chives & white cheddar. Otherwise followed to the T. REALLY good! Even my picky 11 year old asked if I could make them for Thanksgiving. Will definitely make again with my mashed leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Craig
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used 3 green onions, and less flour, maybe 3/4 cup. Made one batch and it still very much like fried potatoes and sort of bland. So I added some shakes of garlic powder, paprika, added another egg and some grated cheese in the next batch, which took this to a five star for us. Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I found them to not have much taste. I even added cheese to the mixture. But I would try them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States