Old Fashioned Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Added additional seasoning (garlic and hot sauce). No onion, subbed onion powder. Also used less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoftballMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yummy! Great way to use left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love the taste of these, and they are so simple and easy to make. I had some leftover mashed potatoes that i needed to use and i find this recipe. This was the first time that i have ever had this and i must say they were good and the family loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
These were delicious! The only things I added were garlic powder and an extra egg(as some previous reviewers did). I felt the extra egg made them difficult to handle and shape. Next time I will try them with just the one egg as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Sauteed the onions first with garlic and added chives & white cheddar. Otherwise followed to the T. REALLY good! Even my picky 11 year old asked if I could make them for Thanksgiving. Will definitely make again with my mashed leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used 3 green onions, and less flour, maybe 3/4 cup. Made one batch and it still very much like fried potatoes and sort of bland. So I added some shakes of garlic powder, paprika, added another egg and some grated cheese in the next batch, which took this to a five star for us. Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I found them to not have much taste. I even added cheese to the mixture. But I would try them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
i am new to this site and dont cook much however i was feeling a little brave so i made this wonderful potato cakes it was so easy and everyonr loved them i will make them again thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pleasanton Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
O.....M.....G...... So good. So very good. I made these to serve with roasted chicken/spinach sausages as my spin on "bangers and mash". I know that's a stretch, but that's was my inspiration when I decided to serve with sausage. The amount of oil called for is more than what you really need. I used maybe half and got great results. I also followed another reviewer's advice and used half green onion and half yellow onion. Wow. The green onion really added something special to what was already a fantastic recipe. Tip: To make the actual cakes, I used an ice cream scoop and dropped scoops into the skillet (four at a time in a regular size round skillet). I then sprayed the back of my spatula with cooking spray and flattened them into pancake size without the potatoes sticking to the spatula. Worked like a charm. I served with roasted chicken and spinach sausages and green beans on the side. As others suggested, I served the cakes with sour cream. HEAVENLY. Thanks for the recipe. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Loved these. I made them just the way the recipe says and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States