Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
The first time I made this it was a little dry and not quite what I expected. The second time I added a little sour cream and evaporated milk to the batter along with about 1/4 - 1/2 cup of reserved pineapple juice. It was moist & delicious. Just like my great grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
OMG!!! THIS WAS THE BEST CAKE EVER!!! I took the advice from other reviews about the batter being to dry and added 1/4 - 1/2 cup of the reserved pineapple juice and about 2 or 3 tablespoons of sour cream. PERFECTION!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I followed the directions exactly, except that I baked the cake in a 9X13. My boyfriend absolutely loves it and has hade me make it 4 times in the past 3 weeks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is by far the tasties, moistest, most delicious pineapple upside down cake I have ever made or eaten. I did nothing to change it; it is perfect when made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Used a different cake mixture, as I was afraid of it being too dry from the reviews. My version turned out great, but has to cook a lot longer. Try it if you like. I will try the original recipe next time and revisit my rating. Cake: Stir together: 1 2/3 + 6 TB flour 1 c. sugar 3 tsp. baking powder Add: 1 c. milk 6 TB. butter, almost melted 2 eggs, beaten 1/2 tsp. almond extract 1 tsp. vanilla extract (or all of one) Mix to combine, then beat on med. speed for 1 min. to fluff. Spoon over pineapple slices. Bake for 1 hour or till toothpick comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes before inverting onto platter. - DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
This recipe sounded like it would be great, unfortunately it was not! It took way more than the listed time to cook and it was not very tasty at all...kind of balnd actually. My father in law is a pineapple upsdie down cake officianado and I was embarrassed to serve it to him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My Dad loves pineapple upside-down cake. I found this recipe and my wife made it for him for his birthday, hands down it is the best pineapple upside-down cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is a very tasty cake. Mine did come out a little bit tough but that is my fault. I over mixed it. It still came out fluffy. Next time I think I will use vanilla extract and add a little pineapple juice. Now I really don't want to put this but just in case it will save someone else someday... I had the brilliant idea of making this in a bundt pan. Don't Do It!! Unless you want to spend 10 minutes shaking, banging, cussing, and finally pleading with your cake to come out of the pan. I did finally get it out though just wasn't fun or pretty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I've used all-purpose flour and also bread flour in this recipes; both work well. Also, pineapple chunks can be used instead of rings. Fantastic cake, easy to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is one of the most popular Pineapple Upside-Down Cake on this site. My mother has an easier version where you don't need to beat the egg whites separately. Whisk together whole eggs and sugar until the liquid becomes light yellow and foamy. This means the chemical reaction is almost equivalent to beating the egg whites in the end batter. It is also easier that way when you mix in the dry ingredients to the batter because there is always enough liquids. I also pour the juice from the can on the cake after taking it out of the oven. It makes it so moist and even more pineapple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMITSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rueil-Malmaison, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States