Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed this recipe closely, but made a few minor changes after reading others' changes. Reduced the amount of brown sugar at least half. Used vanilla (that's what I had) instead of almond extract. No yucky maraschinos. Added a few large Tbs of yogurt for moistness, folding it into the batter at the end. I also cut the pineapple into little arches, so they could press together more and cover more surface area. It looked really nice too! Overall, a beautiful recipe. Very light, like a chiffon. And I loved used my cast iron skillet to bake it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyBolling
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made these into little personal cakes from muffin tins. I used crushed pineapple instead of the slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyBolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is a delicious cake! It was super moist and tasty. I will definitely make again. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I had the problem that after I baked it (longer than the time indicated--closer to 45 min.) and turned it over onto a cake plate, I had a bowl of melted sugar/butter sitting in the middle of the cake. I tried to spread it over the sides but there was way too much of the butter/sugar mixture. I will probably cut that in half next time. Did anyone else have this problem? Otherwise it was very delicious. I did add 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple mixed with about tablespoon of vanilla yogurt, the 1 tbsp. butter, and 1 tsp. almond extract together then I turned it into the batter. I thought it added more pineapple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Delicious and moist, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was such a delicious recipe! I used a nonstick cake pan in lieu of a skillet and that made everything fool proof when flipping the cake over. All of my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I have made this cake a couple of times now and my family loves it. The first time I made it exactly like the recipe and it was a hit with my husband and in-laws. Tonight I used fresh pineapple and added coconut on top of that. I only used 3/4 cups of granulated sugar. I also added coconut extract instead of the almond and a couple of tablespoons of plain yogurt to make it a little more moist. This version was my favorite! But following the recipe exactly is 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Made this cake for my Brother's birthday! He said it was the best PUDC EVER!! Will def make this for my neighbors! Oh, not to mention, it was so easy to do!!! FIVE STAR INDEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schriever, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is a delicious cake when you make sure to add more pineapple juice to the batter! I also added a bit more almond extract since I LOVE the taste. I have found that if you're going to double this recipe, make sure to make 2 cakes. I made the mistake of pouring the doubled batter into 1 large (tall) cake pan, and although the top was super yummy, the bottom didn't have that buttery/sugary glaze seeping into it to make it super moist. It was still delicious, but I'm sure it would have been better if I had made 2 separate cakes. I am looking forward to making this again and again! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
made this last night for my wife's birthday. i made the recommended changes (1/4 cup pineapple juice and 2 tablespoons of yogurt(we don't have sour cream here)) and the cake part was awesome. it was very light and moist. i only gave this recipe 4 stars though because of the sweetness. next time i will reduce the sugar content by about a 1/3 (especially the brown sugar). but definitely a recipe worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States