Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good. Took a little longer until it was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I just made this cake and had a piece, I love it!!! I too like followed the suggestions of others and added 3 tablespoons of sour cream and a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. The cake was very moist. I used fresh pineapple but will take others suggestions and try crushed next time. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
its so good and moist, i add 2 table spoon of sour cream and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice just like the other review said, it turn out the best pineapple cake i've made. my husband loves it!!!! thank you for sharing your recipe with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
i really like cooking with a cast iron skillet and was excited to make this but not super excited about the results. i don't like the grainy brown sugar in the finished cake - i prefer recipes that heat the butter and sugar together to make a sweet, smooth, buttery, drippy caramel and i'd prefer to use a different cake recipe next time and about double the cake to topping ratio here. my family happily ate this cake but... still looking for an awesome old fashioned pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This cake tastes good because of the almond extract in it, but it is the consistency of fruit cake--NOT upside down cake. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was great! I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great! I whipped this up using pineapple tidbits and no cherries and vanilla extract...before church! Perfect after sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
wasn't very impressed with recipe..Will make adjustments on next one like trying the sour cream and maybe a little more flour to stiffen up the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
AWESOME! I also added about 1/4 cup of Pineapple juice to the mix with the Almond flavoring and butter. I sprinkled just a little Brown sugar on the top before putting it in the over to add sweetness to the bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very Good and reminded me of my childhood, only I think it is better than what my mom made! I used crushed pineapple instead of slices and also added 1/4 cup of juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States