Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Loved it, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Seriously one of the best cakes I've ever made. I'm 8 months pregnant and HAD TO HAVE A PINEAPPLE UPSIDE DOWN CAKE. I loved making it in my skillet, really made the top/bottom tasty. The cake itself is DELICIOUS, and then when you add the brown sugar/butter/fruit topping it's insane. I did add a few splashes of reserved pineapple juice to the cake batter, due to other reviews. It gave the cake a great flavor! The cake itself was kind of a PITA to make, took two mixers at once, but totally TOTALLY worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Made it exactly like the recipe called for and it was divine! It required baking for an extra 15 mins but turned out perfectly. It was slightly crisp on the outside with lots of air pockets throughout. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Easier than I expected & It turned out GREAT!! My whole family loved it. I used a springform cake pan lined with parchment paper (super easy clean-up) and pre-melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great flavor. I used yellow cake instead of white (family preference). I did not have a cast iron pan so It was also very attractive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
So easy and so yummy. My 12 year old daughter made this with little help from Mom. I like that you can make it in a skillet that you melt the butter in, one less pan to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The Cake recipe alone is a pretty good one. I followed instructions exactly but baked it it a 9" pan. I used vanilla instead of almond extract and I had no cherries. I did add cinnamon. It came out great. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I always wanted to make a baked item in my cast iron skillet. Thank-you so much for this recipe. My cake came out perfectly and the only thing I changed is that I used organic butter, fresh pineapple and organic sugar. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryspoiled1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I converted this to gluten free by substituting Gluten Free Mama's Almond blend flour for the cake flour. Also added 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup pineapple juice to the batter before spreading on the pineapple slices and cherries. This cake is superb! Just like I remember my mom making when I was a kid. Although hers were never gluten free (wasn't necessary back then). You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States