Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
made this last night for my wife's birthday. i made the recommended changes (1/4 cup pineapple juice and 2 tablespoons of yogurt(we don't have sour cream here)) and the cake part was awesome. it was very light and moist. i only gave this recipe 4 stars though because of the sweetness. next time i will reduce the sugar content by about a 1/3 (especially the brown sugar). but definitely a recipe worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Passed the test - Uncle who wants PUC just the way his mother made it - says, "Delicious." It was beautiful - like a magazine photo. I used a cast iron skillet and covered all spaces around the pineapple with cherries. I added about a 1/2 cup of pineapple juice, because I prefer a pineapple-y taste in the cake(I would have done this anyway, not necessarily due to other reviewer's comments). The cake released perfectly and was quite moist with excellent flavor. The pineapple caramelized beautifully. I would have been proud to take this cake to any event. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
When I first took a bite, I thought it had too much almond extract. But as I ate more of it, the pineapple with the almond extract was wonderful! I had a couple of pineapple slices that didn't want to come out of the pan, but I just used a fork to reposition them on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Bland. I even added 1/4 c pineapple juice. The cake texture is more like angel food which is ok except that's not how I like my pineapple upside down cake. I did cook it in my cast iron skillet so the listed baking time was correct, I just wasn't crazy about how dry and bland it was. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Outstanding recipe, change nothing! Just don't over mix. I cooked mine in a cake pan and it was fantastic, best PUDC ever! The flavor is amazing and the spongy texture is a delight. Much better than plain cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This takes a little work and a lot of bowls but is worth it! I used crushed pineapple (drained). Since some reviewers had dryness concerns, I reserved 1/3 cup of juice and added an additional tbls melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I followed other reviews and poured some of the pineapple juice into the batter. The end result turned out just right but the cake just wasn't what I like in a Pineapple Upside Down Cake. It was dense and I prefer a light fluffy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made this for dessert tonight, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The recipe sounded a little dry, so I took the advice of others, and added 1/2 C pineapple juice and 2 big dollops of sour cream (vanilla or plain yogurt would work too). Only one piece is left, so I'm gonna hide it for tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Really dry and tough! Didn't work well for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Nope, Not my favorite cake. The cake was just not fluffy the way I like it. I followed the recipe just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States