Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I don't like it and it's dryer than I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amruta
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
If never tried pineapple upside down before and my boyfriend was obsessed with it.gave this a try and it turned out great..the only thing I did wrong was put less brown sugar in the beginning. apart from that it tasted yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara Johnston
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
It turned out better than expected! I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! I followed a review's advice and added 1/4 cup of the reserved pineapple juice to the batter for the added pineapple flavor. My cake wasnt dry at all! I can't understand how anyone would get a dry cake. Perhaps they over cooked it? The cake had a very nice fluffy texture. If you want to make an old school pineapple upside-down cake, this it the recipe to follow. SO MUCH better than a boxed cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Johnston
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. It was much too sweet, and the almond extract just overpowered the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starreyez
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Yes . First time making this recipe came out beautifully. I did use the suggestions, of using the pineapple juice reserve. Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Way to much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jul
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I forgot to say that I made this in a Dutch Oven. Also, grease your plate before you invert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made it exactly as instructed and it was perfect. So fluffy and light and moist. I really worked to be light handed with the whites and folded them carefully with the flour (sifted!) and yolk mixture .... just as one does when making Macarons and the "batter" reminded me of Macaron batter -- kind of chunky but thoroughly (but barely) combined. I think that was the magic ... and made the batter angel food cake-like. I didnt love the lack of caramelization on the bottom but I placed the pan on an upper rack. Next time I'll place it on a lower rack and suspect that'll do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
this didn't turn out good for me. too much brown sugar, rather grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This recipe was lite and fluffy! I only had crushed pineapple so that's what I used.. I didn't find that it was too sweet. And it had a yummy buttery flavour that wasn't overpowering. This took me right back to my Nanna's kitchen when I was a little girl. Overall pretty tasty recipe! I did however cut the almond extract in half because that stuff is powerful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States