Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Wonderful recipe, although being an angel food cake it's a little dry. I added a bit too much almond extract but it still turned out well. Next time might add a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
This recipe sounded like it would be great, unfortunately it was not! It took way more than the listed time to cook and it was not very tasty at all...kind of balnd actually. My father in law is a pineapple upsdie down cake officianado and I was embarrassed to serve it to him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Great recipe, my wife's made this a few times and each time it's gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Used a different cake mixture, as I was afraid of it being too dry from the reviews. My version turned out great, but has to cook a lot longer. Try it if you like. I will try the original recipe next time and revisit my rating. Cake: Stir together: 1 2/3 + 6 TB flour 1 c. sugar 3 tsp. baking powder Add: 1 c. milk 6 TB. butter, almost melted 2 eggs, beaten 1/2 tsp. almond extract 1 tsp. vanilla extract (or all of one) Mix to combine, then beat on med. speed for 1 min. to fluff. Spoon over pineapple slices. Bake for 1 hour or till toothpick comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes before inverting onto platter. - DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I've used all-purpose flour and also bread flour in this recipes; both work well. Also, pineapple chunks can be used instead of rings. Fantastic cake, easy to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I followed the directions exactly, except that I baked the cake in a 9X13. My boyfriend absolutely loves it and has hade me make it 4 times in the past 3 weeks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great cake. My wife doesn't like pineapple upsidedown cake, but loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This did not turn out right at all!! There was way too much butter and not enough flour. We cooked it for almost an hour and it was just runny. The top made a crust, but the rest was sick! I'm sure the garbage liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is by far the tasties, moistest, most delicious pineapple upside down cake I have ever made or eaten. I did nothing to change it; it is perfect when made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was fabulous!! I used peaches instead of the pineapple because that is what I had available and it was so good. It was beautiful and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States