Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
i really like cooking with a cast iron skillet and was excited to make this but not super excited about the results. i don't like the grainy brown sugar in the finished cake - i prefer recipes that heat the butter and sugar together to make a sweet, smooth, buttery, drippy caramel and i'd prefer to use a different cake recipe next time and about double the cake to topping ratio here. my family happily ate this cake but... still looking for an awesome old fashioned pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This cake tastes good because of the almond extract in it, but it is the consistency of fruit cake--NOT upside down cake. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was great! I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great! I whipped this up using pineapple tidbits and no cherries and vanilla extract...before church! Perfect after sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
wasn't very impressed with recipe..Will make adjustments on next one like trying the sour cream and maybe a little more flour to stiffen up the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
AWESOME! I also added about 1/4 cup of Pineapple juice to the mix with the Almond flavoring and butter. I sprinkled just a little Brown sugar on the top before putting it in the over to add sweetness to the bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very Good and reminded me of my childhood, only I think it is better than what my mom made! I used crushed pineapple instead of slices and also added 1/4 cup of juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for 16yrs..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I read a lot of Pineapple Upside Down Cake recipes before I settled on this one. I had made one similar years before with a recipe from a Southern living magazine. I made this exactly as written (I think you should to rate it properly.) except I did not add the last T. of butter...did not have anymore. Anyway, I'm not sure what I expected but this was not it. Beating the egg whites then folding in the yellows and flour mixture made a strange looking batter, to me. When I checked it at 30 min.s the batter was still very liquidy, turned oven up to 350 and cooked 5 more min.s. It was done. Tasted ok warm from the oven...not so good later. Wasn't a big hit at my house. May just us a recipe with a mix next time. I love pineapple and still want to make a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've made this cake 2 times as written and it became my families favorite pineapple upside down cake. Yesterday I added tablespoons of the pineapple juice and I changed the extract from almont to vanilla. We like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States