Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for 16yrs..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I read a lot of Pineapple Upside Down Cake recipes before I settled on this one. I had made one similar years before with a recipe from a Southern living magazine. I made this exactly as written (I think you should to rate it properly.) except I did not add the last T. of butter...did not have anymore. Anyway, I'm not sure what I expected but this was not it. Beating the egg whites then folding in the yellows and flour mixture made a strange looking batter, to me. When I checked it at 30 min.s the batter was still very liquidy, turned oven up to 350 and cooked 5 more min.s. It was done. Tasted ok warm from the oven...not so good later. Wasn't a big hit at my house. May just us a recipe with a mix next time. I love pineapple and still want to make a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've made this cake 2 times as written and it became my families favorite pineapple upside down cake. Yesterday I added tablespoons of the pineapple juice and I changed the extract from almont to vanilla. We like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was a great recipe. I love the fact that you can read the reviews of other people before making it yourself! I did not want mine to be dry so I added a little pinapple and cherry juice as well as about a half cup of crushed pinapple in at the end and it came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ez
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
5* for posting a great base. Added 1 T sour cream, large farm-fresh eggs, organic everything possible, 12" cast-iron, fresh pineapple, cranberries, baked for abt 40 min. All else as written. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
WONDERFUL!!MADE EXACTLY AS WRITTEN :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is one of the best pineapple upside-down cakes that I've ever had. Hot out of the oven, or cold with a cup of tea in the morning, this only gets better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leahrose33081
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This cake is amazing!! I followed the directions exactly, except for adding a bit of pineapple juice and sour cream to batter for moistness, as suggested by other reviewers. My boyfriend and I both loved it, and he was amazed by how delicious and "fluffy" the cake was. Great recipe and easy to whip up. Love that I was able to put my cast iron pan to good use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My family loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUSTICHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made it in a cake pan rather than a skillet and it worked out well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States