Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Made exactly per recipe. (If you didn't follow the recipe exactly, don't review it......and don't knock it!). This is a fabulous upside-down cake. It makes a beautiful batter, and the finished cake is delicious, absolutely delicious. May be slightly (I said slightly) harder than making one with a cake mix, but if you value the taste of a home-made cake, this is easier than pie. And very pretty, too. Got rave reviews from all who got a piece; one man said it was as "wonderful" as his grandmother's, who also made hers in a skillet, and that was my reward! Thank you for a "wonderful" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
i should have preheated the cast iron to caramelize the pineapple more but this was far from dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This came out more like a quiche or an egg custard consistency . I't not your mothers "pineapple upside down cake". Should have known with 4 eggs to 1 cup of cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Why can't there be 6 stars?? This recipe was insane!! Super-delicious and delectable--the entire cake disappeared in one day! I cooked mine in an oval glass casserole, which worked splendidly, as I didn't have a nice cast-iron skillet. Highly recommend this recipe for a dessert that's a lot of fun and also different from the usual dessert array. Thanks so much!! (Also, I substituted vanilla extract for the almond extract and it was still very tasty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe and just poured the pineapple juice on the cake after I poked the cake from the bottom. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was very good and moist. I did follow the directions, whipping the yolks and whites separate. If you do this step this will give your cake fluff and keep it moist. I did omit the second round of butter, added 1/4 cup of reserved pineapple juice to the already whipped yolks, and reduced the 1 cup of sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream to the already whipped yolks as well. Baked in a 13x9 pan for 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Turned out absolutely delicious. Followed recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Way to much sugar, this is the first receipe I have been disappointed with, and way to much butter. I will tweek it and maybe it will be good, but we don't like so much sugar, all you could taste is sugar, sorry, but just being honest. Thank you anyways, LEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Yummy. I didn't follow the directions either from laziness or misreading the directions but used the recipe as close as possible. Cut the recipe down by half for a family of three. Didn't use cake flour used all purpose extra melted butter in the batter with vanilla extract. Did not whip in separate bowl. I mixed together all the dry, then dropped the eggs in, stirred, added the butter and extract. All one bowl done by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States