Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
great cake. used a 9x13 baking dish instead of a cast iron skillet. don't think it would have fit in the skillet. used regular flour instead of cake flour, and vanilla instead of almond extract. Also, added 1/2 cup of the pineapple juice from the can and left out the little bit of melted butter completely. it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great base recipe! I added shaved coconut to the pineapple topping. To the batter, I added 2 tablespoons pineapple juice and increased bake time to 45 minutes, (watching very closely). Cake was very fluffy and light. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This turned out wonderfully! Followed the suggestions of adding 2-3 Tbsp sour cream and about 1/4 cup or so of the pineapple juice to the mixture. The batter was a little bit more trouble to make than a usual cake (with separating the eggs, and folding everything together) and the texture was a bit strange, but my finished product was very moist and tasty. Worked great baking in the cast iron skillet too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had my reservations when the mix only called for 1 TBS of butter. Very dry! Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Yesterday was my first time to make this cake and it did not disappoint. I read the recipe over 2 times to be sure there was no liquid that I had missed. If I were not a diabetic, I could have eaten the cake in one day. I will use less butter and brown sugar in the future. Do think I might add a bit of the pineapple juice next time. Loved the texture of the cake. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo'L
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it a few times. The hardest part is trying to keep my dog away from it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo'L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Looked for a recipe for many years ,Aunt made them when I was a kid. This recipe truly reminded me of the old cooks of the old south. If you add to this recipe you miss the point, well maybe cause I use dark brown sugar for a more sticky caramel tase. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This just came out of the oven and it's so good! This is a perfect old fashioned upside down cake. It was light and spongy and very sweet:) I did add about 1/4 c. of sour cream but other than that I followed the recipe as is. Next time I think I'll add a can of crushed pineapple to the batter for extra pineapple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
5 stars.....This is exactly what I was looking for. When I was growing up, my sister and I did lots of cooking and baking by scratch thanks to our mother's guidance and this was our favorite pineapple upside down cake. I am now going to make it for my mother in law!!!! In my opinion, there is no better!! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Cake was a little dry. Taste was great -- needed a little more butter. Will add the next time I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States