Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This came out more like a quiche or an egg custard consistency . I't not your mothers "pineapple upside down cake". Should have known with 4 eggs to 1 cup of cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Why can't there be 6 stars?? This recipe was insane!! Super-delicious and delectable--the entire cake disappeared in one day! I cooked mine in an oval glass casserole, which worked splendidly, as I didn't have a nice cast-iron skillet. Highly recommend this recipe for a dessert that's a lot of fun and also different from the usual dessert array. Thanks so much!! (Also, I substituted vanilla extract for the almond extract and it was still very tasty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe and just poured the pineapple juice on the cake after I poked the cake from the bottom. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was very good and moist. I did follow the directions, whipping the yolks and whites separate. If you do this step this will give your cake fluff and keep it moist. I did omit the second round of butter, added 1/4 cup of reserved pineapple juice to the already whipped yolks, and reduced the 1 cup of sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream to the already whipped yolks as well. Baked in a 13x9 pan for 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Turned out absolutely delicious. Followed recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Way to much sugar, this is the first receipe I have been disappointed with, and way to much butter. I will tweek it and maybe it will be good, but we don't like so much sugar, all you could taste is sugar, sorry, but just being honest. Thank you anyways, LEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Yummy. I didn't follow the directions either from laziness or misreading the directions but used the recipe as close as possible. Cut the recipe down by half for a family of three. Didn't use cake flour used all purpose extra melted butter in the batter with vanilla extract. Did not whip in separate bowl. I mixed together all the dry, then dropped the eggs in, stirred, added the butter and extract. All one bowl done by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I'm sure I did this wrong...it was very bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWoolworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I added about 1/2 cup of the pineapple juice like everyone says to do. I um, only had a 9" pan and that wasn't a good idea. It overflowed and took longer to bake, as you can imagine. It was amazing though, and my fiancee ate the entire cake (standing up) when he got home and he didn't even notice the faint smell of burnt cake coming from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States