Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was okay. Easy to prepare. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned and substituted vanilla extract instead of almond extract. I don't like almond. Everything else was exactly as written(I don't normally substitute) The flavour was good but I found that the butter/sugar mixture made the cake too soggy. I will either reduce the amount and/or use a smaller pan next time so that it is a thicker cake. My husband did love this cake as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnieBerl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my First Pineapple UpsideDown Cake.. And it was Delicious!!!! I have a very, very small cake business (pound cake from scratch) I'm just starting to fill other orders and this was my First Pineapple UpsideDown Cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I change nothing about it. Friends and family rave about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The best pineapple upside-down cake I've ever tasted. Light, sweet and buttery. I made it just as the recipe stated. I changed nothing. It wasn't dry at all. Will definitely bake this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeimy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Loved it!! I added three table spoon of rum to the sugar and butter. I made the few changes suggested by others. I added some pineapple juice and sour cream. It was simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe for my man for his Birthday. He loved it. Can't wait to make it again. i did follow the advise to add the sour cream and pineapple juice, which made it perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I think I might try either using half the recommended amount of almond extract or just substituting vanilla extract instead and using half. The almond taste is way too strong for me. It is super sweet. Needs tweeking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I used whole wheat flour and organic cane sugar.added some vanilla extract to the butter as well. Turned out great. the cake finished in one sitting between 4 people. This recipe is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States