Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by leahrose33081
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This cake is amazing!! I followed the directions exactly, except for adding a bit of pineapple juice and sour cream to batter for moistness, as suggested by other reviewers. My boyfriend and I both loved it, and he was amazed by how delicious and "fluffy" the cake was. Great recipe and easy to whip up. Love that I was able to put my cast iron pan to good use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My family loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUSTICHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made it in a cake pan rather than a skillet and it worked out well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Terrible cake. I lost every ingredient. I would never try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Substituted fresh strawberries for maraschino cherries and used a fresh pineapple. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The recipe makes a decent cake but it's a bit on the dry side. I did add 2 Tbsp. of sour cream after reading other reviews complaining of the same thing. I also used pineapple rings that were packed in 100% juice rather than rings packed in syrup. I will be giving the recipe another chance and using a bit more sour cream because it should be an easy fix. If it doesn't help I'll be moving onto another recipe. EDIT: I gave this cake another go and this time I added an extra tablespoon of sour cream and then once baked I poked the cake with a fork and sprinkled some of the pineapple juice I had reserved over the cake (just enough to moisten in but not soak it like say a tres leches cake) and let it rest until time to serve. This really improved the cake in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
the flavor on this cake is awesome! mine sagged in the middle though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This came out fabulous! I used a 13x9" pan. My only changes were adding a bit of reserved pineapple juice and using regular all-purpose flower because I didn't have cake flower. I also added walnuts around the pineapples. Because of the size of the pan, it was a very "short" cake. It did not rise much if at all while baking. The flour I used might have also contributed. Because of the added juice, it was hard to tell that the cake was done baking because it was bubbling. I baked it an extra 10 or 15 minutes, but it was not overcooked. This was fantastic. It was a lot more complex than anything I usually bake, but it was well worth the work. It was just as good as the cake my grandma used to make, and she made the best pineapple upside down cake I've ever eaten. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah “Sarha” Oboda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is my first time trying this cake, or any cake for that matter, from scratch. It was delicious!!! I found though that I had to bake it a little longer than the 35 minutes. Loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed this recipe closely, but made a few minor changes after reading others' changes. Reduced the amount of brown sugar at least half. Used vanilla (that's what I had) instead of almond extract. No yucky maraschinos. Added a few large Tbs of yogurt for moistness, folding it into the batter at the end. I also cut the pineapple into little arches, so they could press together more and cover more surface area. It looked really nice too! Overall, a beautiful recipe. Very light, like a chiffon. And I loved used my cast iron skillet to bake it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States