Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
4 stars as is. 5 with the following changes. My husband and I have just tried with the changes and we both said " this is going to be a problem" lol Used crushed pineapple, drained Halved the almond extract & added 1 tsp vanilla Beat egg yolks w sugar Added 1/4 c sour cream Folded in egg whites last Next time I'll soak the pineapple overnight in coconut rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It left ALOT to be desired.... It was dry and was missing something, I was disappointed and let down those that enjoy my cooking. I recommend another recipe elsewhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe wasn't bad. I added the pineapple juice and sour cream but I don't know that it needed it because the goo from the top of the cake saturates down when you flip it. I made it in a 9 x 13 and it took 45 minutes to cook. If you use a bigger pan, double the recipe! My cake was only 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This cake turned out very juicy and moist! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The cake was okay, but I think it came out too sweet for me. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup and maybe the granulated sugar to 3/4 cups. I used whole wheat flour, which made a wheat colored cake :) The cake was perfect except for sweetness. I like sweets, but it doesn't take much to be too sweet for me. I will also bake at a higher temperature, maybe 335-340 instead of 325. I baked it for 40 minutes. The cake is very moist, but I think I will try what one person says her mother or mother-in-law did and pours some of the pineapple juice over the cake after it's done baking, for moisture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was sooooo easy and delicious!!!! Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This cake is awesome! Reminds me of how my grandmother's pineapple upside down cake use to taste. I did take the advice of another reviewer and added pineapple juice and some sour cream to the mix. Plus I added a bit more brown sugar. I have a sweet tooth :) plus my husband said he thought it needed more brown sugar. All in all this was by far the best cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was okay. Easy to prepare. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned and substituted vanilla extract instead of almond extract. I don't like almond. Everything else was exactly as written(I don't normally substitute) The flavour was good but I found that the butter/sugar mixture made the cake too soggy. I will either reduce the amount and/or use a smaller pan next time so that it is a thicker cake. My husband did love this cake as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnieBerl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my First Pineapple UpsideDown Cake.. And it was Delicious!!!! I have a very, very small cake business (pound cake from scratch) I'm just starting to fill other orders and this was my First Pineapple UpsideDown Cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States