Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used a smaller cast iron skillet to cook it and it takes an extra 7 minutes or so but it turns out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
haven't tried it yet. going to try it tomorrow. Has anyone ever frozen a pineapple upside down cake with fresh or canned pineapple? I need to make about 8 cakes in two weeks and wondered if I could? if so please email me cause I need it asap.Grammieb2@clear.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
OK I am making this cake now. I will cut the sugar down a bit, add 2 tablespoons of sour cream and add 1/4-1/3 cup of pineapple juice to the batter. Problem is I don't have a mixer so will try whipping it with a whisk. Wish me luck, I hope it works! Also my cast iron skillet is only 10 inches, crossing fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
4 stars as is. 5 with the following changes. My husband and I have just tried with the changes and we both said " this is going to be a problem" lol Used crushed pineapple, drained Halved the almond extract & added 1 tsp vanilla Beat egg yolks w sugar Added 1/4 c sour cream Folded in egg whites last Next time I'll soak the pineapple overnight in coconut rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It left ALOT to be desired.... It was dry and was missing something, I was disappointed and let down those that enjoy my cooking. I recommend another recipe elsewhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe wasn't bad. I added the pineapple juice and sour cream but I don't know that it needed it because the goo from the top of the cake saturates down when you flip it. I made it in a 9 x 13 and it took 45 minutes to cook. If you use a bigger pan, double the recipe! My cake was only 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This cake turned out very juicy and moist! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
The cake was okay, but I think it came out too sweet for me. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup and maybe the granulated sugar to 3/4 cups. I used whole wheat flour, which made a wheat colored cake :) The cake was perfect except for sweetness. I like sweets, but it doesn't take much to be too sweet for me. I will also bake at a higher temperature, maybe 335-340 instead of 325. I baked it for 40 minutes. The cake is very moist, but I think I will try what one person says her mother or mother-in-law did and pours some of the pineapple juice over the cake after it's done baking, for moisture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was sooooo easy and delicious!!!! Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This cake is awesome! Reminds me of how my grandmother's pineapple upside down cake use to taste. I did take the advice of another reviewer and added pineapple juice and some sour cream to the mix. Plus I added a bit more brown sugar. I have a sweet tooth :) plus my husband said he thought it needed more brown sugar. All in all this was by far the best cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States