Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Sweet...I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Ryman Eastham
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This cake was really tasty. I tried making it in a skillet and that didn't work well. I made it in a glass dish and that worked much better but had to leave it in 15 minutes longer than the time stated. Watch your cake and test it with a skewer to make sure it's cooked through. I made it for my father at his birthday request. I read reviews and added 2 Tbsp sour cream. I used bing and maraschino cherries. I will make it again. No more box cake here. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Yummy the family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eatonville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It does taste good but did anyone find it just a little too eggy? 4 eggs for 1 cup of cake flour was a bit much for my taste. Other than that it was pretty good...oh I used vanilla not almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Photo by Gail Gerszewski-Johnson
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I used the wrong type of baking dish but it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I personally like a more cake style recipe but this was an extremely moist cake and fun to make! It was a bit buttery so next time I might reduce by a 1/4 cp but it was gone before I knew it so that should say something!!!! Its very delicious and great for any dessert addition.. I snap chatted the meringue making!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bowie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I used a smaller cast iron skillet to cook it and it takes an extra 7 minutes or so but it turns out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
OK I am making this cake now. I will cut the sugar down a bit, add 2 tablespoons of sour cream and add 1/4-1/3 cup of pineapple juice to the batter. Problem is I don't have a mixer so will try whipping it with a whisk. Wish me luck, I hope it works! Also my cast iron skillet is only 10 inches, crossing fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
4 stars as is. 5 with the following changes. My husband and I have just tried with the changes and we both said " this is going to be a problem" lol Used crushed pineapple, drained Halved the almond extract & added 1 tsp vanilla Beat egg yolks w sugar Added 1/4 c sour cream Folded in egg whites last Next time I'll soak the pineapple overnight in coconut rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
It left ALOT to be desired.... It was dry and was missing something, I was disappointed and let down those that enjoy my cooking. I recommend another recipe elsewhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States