Old Fashioned Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe ROCKS!I love the old fahioned cookies and my family did too!I didn't have the pb chips so I used 3 cups of peanut butter instead and chocolate chips!!AND YUM!It produced a decent amount of cookies and the cook time was right on as well about 15 mins per batch.All this coming from a girl who doesn't bake...lol!Well,I found a new talent and I do believe I will be making these every year from now on!Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Great Recipe, I increased the PB by about 1/4c (just to finish off the rest of the can). They came out heavy and rich and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe, turned out great! (The batter alone is to die for... :) Actually made the exact amount of cookies stated, and the bake time was even accurate, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moraga, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
These cookies were very thick. Good peanut butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have never been a big fan of peanut butter cookies. I made these for my boyfriend and I. I ended eating up most of them. I couldn't stop eating them. They were very addicting. I did use the tip and added a 1/4 cup more of peanut butter. Inormally putt my cookies in something so not to lose the moisture but with these, there was no need. The sat out for a few days and were as moist and yummy as when i took then off thebaking sheet. Great recipe. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingMom08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I loved this recipe. I did a few things differently, so I gave it 4 stars, since I can't rate something I didn't follow to a tee. I LOVE PB, so I added almost a full cup of unsalted chopped peanuts, and used only 1 1/2 cups of the PB chips. I also added about 1/4 cup of honey. I wish I tried more, because I couldn't really taste it. Even after that, it was not too sweet, which is the way I like them. I also prefer the lower cooking time - about 12 minutes. I did not feel the batter was crumbly, but didn't care because I did not want to bother with shaping them and doing the criss-cross. I used an ice cream scoop, only smooshed them down a tiny bit, and I love how they retained their height and irregular shape that way. Absolutely my favorite PB cookies so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
These cookies were delicious! I did change it a little by using less peanut butter chips (about 1.5 cups) and after the cookies had cooled, I melted some chocolate and paraffin wax in a double boiler and drizzled it on top. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprouts!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Really good, tender and crumbly and slightly chewy. I used 1 C whole wheat pastry flour and mostly white flour with a little molasses, as I had run out of brown sugar. I split the batch and added peanut chips to one half and chocolate chips to the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I have been getting recipies off of allrecipies.com for a while now and this is by far the BEST recipe. I love to bake and am always looking for new recipies to add to my book. These cookies have the right amount of peanut butter to them. They are moist, not like the other crumbly peanut butter cookies ive tasted. I used 1/4 less flour and put in the nestle peanut butter and chocolate chip swirl chips and threw them in there as well as some peanut butter chips. They were not even crumbly at all when I did the criss-cross shape in them like a few others have said. I will add this recipe to my book. These are the best PB cookies ive ever tasted. Maybe half the vanilla extract with have vanilla and half almond extract, I havent done that yet, but it sure sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I only wish I could give more stars,this is the best peanut butter cookie I ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States