Old Fashioned Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made these cookies almost as written, except for one simple modifacation. I used crumbled Reeses Peanut Butter Cups in place of the peanut butter chips and decreased the amount of peanut butter to a 3\4 cup. These cookies make about 5 not 4 dozen and also are very thick. However, everyone liked them and I will be making this recipe (with my modifacations) again! Thank you! :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
These cookies were delicious! I did change it a little by using less peanut butter chips (about 1.5 cups) and after the cookies had cooled, I melted some chocolate and paraffin wax in a double boiler and drizzled it on top. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
These were god, but the peanut butter flavour wasn't intense enough even after I added 1/2 cup more. I also added 1/2 more flour and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
The batter was awfully hard to work with, dry and very crumbly. I would cut back on the flour a bit. Tasty though - my son loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was horrible. The batter came out crumbly and hard to work with. After being baked, the cookies looked funny and didnt taste very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This cookie has a great texture, however it's lacking in taste in my opinion. I added choc. chips and peanuts... The batter was terrific, I ate most of it before baking. ***Also, please note!! DO NOT PUT WAX PAPER IN THE OVEN!!! This must have been a misprint! Use only parchment paper, as wax paper will burn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These are absolutely delicious. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the peanut butter chips and they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
These are really good! I'm not a fan of pb cookies usually, but these are so much better than most. I think a key thing though, is the baking time. 15 minutes would have been way too long. Hard and crispy is not something I'm looking for when it comes to cookies. 9 minutes was pefect for me; the cookies are a great, soft and chewy texture. I also used about 1/4 cup choco chips because my bag of pb chips didn't make 2 cups. I enjoyed the chocolate chips in this; next time I might use half and half. I used trans-fat free pb chips (found in the natural foods aisle, I think the brand is Sunspire). I used half salted butter and only used a pinch of salt. Finally, I used half whole-wheat pastry flour and Adams natural pb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
For me the perfect PB cookie. Intense PB. Was looking for a PB cookie with no hydrog oil (but using PB chips--hydrog in that though). Followed to a T. Came out perfect--not thick as stated in other reviews--just perfect. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Really good, tender and crumbly and slightly chewy. I used 1 C whole wheat pastry flour and mostly white flour with a little molasses, as I had run out of brown sugar. I split the batch and added peanut chips to one half and chocolate chips to the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States