Old Fashioned Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I loved this recipe. I did a few things differently, so I gave it 4 stars, since I can't rate something I didn't follow to a tee. I LOVE PB, so I added almost a full cup of unsalted chopped peanuts, and used only 1 1/2 cups of the PB chips. I also added about 1/4 cup of honey. I wish I tried more, because I couldn't really taste it. Even after that, it was not too sweet, which is the way I like them. I also prefer the lower cooking time - about 12 minutes. I did not feel the batter was crumbly, but didn't care because I did not want to bother with shaping them and doing the criss-cross. I used an ice cream scoop, only smooshed them down a tiny bit, and I love how they retained their height and irregular shape that way. Absolutely my favorite PB cookies so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe ROCKS!I love the old fahioned cookies and my family did too!I didn't have the pb chips so I used 3 cups of peanut butter instead and chocolate chips!!AND YUM!It produced a decent amount of cookies and the cook time was right on as well about 15 mins per batch.All this coming from a girl who doesn't bake...lol!Well,I found a new talent and I do believe I will be making these every year from now on!Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
great recipe, it even worked for me! I also did half batch with choc chips and they went FIRST, so next time I made them ALL with choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These cookies were great. The recipe was easy to follow and mess free. My husband loved them. I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
great! these cookies were so nice and i enjoyed the crumbly old fashioned texture. i also enjoyed that they were more "peanutty" than sugary. the only reason they are not a five star is that they were difficult to handle and criss-cross. i will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe, turned out great! (The batter alone is to die for... :) Actually made the exact amount of cookies stated, and the bake time was even accurate, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moraga, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Pretty decent, but 15 minute cooking time is way too long. 13 minutes seem to be a pretty good length. I also added a tad bit extra sugar, baking powder, and salt. I substituted chocolate chips for peanut butter chips and didn't flatten the cookies too much for softer cookies. I also sprinkled a little bit of sugar on top of the cookies before they were cooked. Over all good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Great Recipe, I increased the PB by about 1/4c (just to finish off the rest of the can). They came out heavy and rich and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These were deliiiccious! I made them for my friend's 16th birthday, and he loved them too. I made them just like the recipe said, and they did turn out a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
unbelievably moist and the subtle peanut flavor was perfect. ill make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cammellerij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States