Old-Fashioned Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I've always been scared to make peanut brittle b/c I remember watching my grandmother make it and burning her forefinger, middle finger and ring finger when she spilled it on her hand one time. I am MANY years older now, and I have a child of my own, so I had to suck it up and learn how to make this on my own b/c my grandmother has passed, thanks for the recipe, it was easy, and I will be able to teach my daughter now thanks to you :) BTW, it tastes just like I remembered :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe has been passed down through 3 generations in my hubby's family. I'm now passing it to the fourth. We use same ingredients list but instructions are different. We bring the liquids/sugar to a boil on high heat in a cast iron 10" skillet then turn to medium heat, boil it to the thread stage then add nuts. Leave the temp. the same and cook until fragrant and nuts are a toasted color. Turn off heat, add the butter, salt and soda, stirring well. Pour on buttered sheet with sides. Cool, twist sheet to pop it up, turn over and break into pieces. Easy and delicious! Always gets raves. I"ve made 10 batches this year. We gift it. I made a first batch today with golden syrup instead of corn syrup for a food allergy. It set up perfectly! Edit*12-9-10. I forgot to mention that I have used up to 2 cups of nuts at times, and also used raw almonds, pecans or hazelnuts in place of the peanuts. All worked fine. Love the pecans or almonds batches. The hazelnut one was just ok, and I love hazelnuts. Just not in this. I've just bought raw cashews to try, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is awsome! I made this and my family loves it. I make it for Christmas and parties. Very easy to make you just need to keep a watch because once it turns it goes quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I've made this five times this season. everyone loves it. I to used the cold water test. i made it one time with pecans and it was just good. i didn't but the pecans in until it was almost done. i will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I agree with previous messages, the recipe did not firm up. After a few tries, I believe the secret is to make sure you boil out all the water and then the brittle will firm up correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The recipe is fine BUT some very important steps have been missed which is why some of you have had troubles. Temperature is VERY important and is why some have not had the brittle harden for them. You need to use a candy thermometer and bring the mixture up to 300 degrees. Then, REMOVE from heat and add 1 tbsp of butter and then the baking soda. The butter should help it not over react and bubble over but you do want the bubbles because this is what makes the brittle, well, brittle! ;O) Also, warm up the pan that you will put the brittle into, this will also help it to spread. Hope this helps everyone because this is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was awesome! I didn't have white syrup so I used golden and this was just amazing! Next time I will add vanilla but it is really good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
fairly simple recipe. I didn't have a candy thermometer and was pleased that the recipe stated what the appropriate appearance was. I did the old cold water test when the nuts turned brown and was mid way between soft and hard ball stage. It was simple to finish at that point, though I did not need two cookie sheets, one was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elocyn
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Turned out great. Did change things a bit though. I halved the recipe because I didnt want a ton of candy, also added a little vanilla and butter along with the baking soda. Using the hard crack test worked great as my candy thermometer fell apart the last time I made candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is some fine peanut brittle. I used raw unsalted peanuts as one member suggested to keep from burning the peanuts and it worked fine. I also made two (2) batches one ,I put red food color and the other I put green food color and it was a big Christmas hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States