Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tausha
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
My first attempt at a cobbler and making crust from scratch. I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter instead of shortening for the crust. Absolutely delicious!! I will definitely make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tausha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amare502
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Husband and kids LOVED this! I'll have to take their word as I don't like peaches. :) I followed "Twitchery"'s recommendations for the pie filling (I did use lime in place of lemon due to no lemons on hand), but followed Eleta's crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was incredibly delicious! Best dessert I've made so far off allrecipes. Most reviewers didn't change a thing and loved it, so I kept close to the recipe. I made it for half its serving size (9) and only changes I made were subbing 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for white and cutting back sugar to 3/4 cup. I followed everything else to a t, and it turned out gorgeously. I baked it in a glass dish 8x8 at 350 and it took 50 minutes until it was golden brown on top. It made a beautiful table presentation, topped with the "Whipped Cream" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I've always preferred this version of peach cobbler over the biscuit dough balls on top of fruit. I guess it's because it's the one I grew up loving. I always bake off strips of rolled out crust and layer it in with the filling. Also I think nutmeg can be a bit strong for fruit desserts. 1& 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon with 1 teaspoon lemon extract will complement the peaches nicely. No other juices are needed. In my opinion there's nothing wrong with canned peaches because the (heavy) syrup adds some needed sweetness & gives you a head start with your filling. I think a cobbler of this size needs at least 3 cups of sugar especially if you opt to use fresh peaches. Also a cobbler of this size needs at least 75-90 minutes in the oven. The sugars need time to caramelize a bit & begin to bubble up nicely. You'll need to lightly cover your cobbler with foil for half the baking time then remove it for proper browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Beacham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakergirl
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is the BOMB!! Made this two days ago for a graduation potluck that would be the following day. Put it back in the oven at the event and it was perfectly warm. Tried a little of the juice the night I made the cobbler and loved it! Zingy and sweet. The orange juice really popped out! I was worried about making the lattice top because I hadn't made one before, but it came out fine. Everyone loved the cobbler! My friend's mom had two bowls and finished whatever was left in the pan. She hated to say it, but she said it was even better than her grandma's peach cobbler. The dish went fast and got many compliments. Great recipe ELETA! I will make this again for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I'm still experimenting with the amount of ingredients, but at the moment, all I can say is "white peaches" don't work very well with this recipe. Tasted more like apple pie to our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenniej2002
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Just like my mom use to make delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniej2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nayscakes
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Horrible and soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel emmerich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Easy and DELICIOUS! ! EVERYONE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States