Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Our peach trees produced 2+ bushels this year. I have made this cobbler 3 times this summer, only change I made was to make a double crust. This is the BEST peach cobbler ever. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Thanks so much for this tasty recipe. I love that the crust came out flaky and buttery instead of soggy. Also I was pleased with the lattice top using the wax paper tip- suggested by one of the reviews. I will definitely make again, however less on the citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Will cut down a bit on the orange and lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
It was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Mccoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
The crust is a little bit of work but worth it, I will use this crust again for other recipes. I used 1/2 butter flavor shortening and 1/2 butter. I increased bake time by 15 min and crust still was a little underbaked. I did not have lemon juice so I left it out, found the orange flavor a little too noticeable. I used 3T of cornstarch and that would have been perfect if my pie had not boiled over and lost so much filling on the cookie sheet. Good cobbler, but I have had better. I will likely make it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Good base but needs changes. I made this today and followed the recipe to the T. I read the suggestions but figured I'd give it a go the way it was written. I wish I would have listened to the other reviews. First off DOUBLE THE CRUST! The amount of crust called for in the recipe is just not enough. I am going to make this again and next time split the white sugar with brown sugar as well as sprinkling brown sugar over top of the lattice work, this should make a huge difference. Depending on the temp of your kitchen you may want to chill the dough a little longer, I had been cooking for a while and before I could finish working with the dough it had already started becoming "sticky" and hard to work with due to the temp. This recipe also needs more peaches. I put in the 3lbs it called for but wish I would have added more like others said. This time it turned out a little on the runny side so next time I will do closer to 4 lbs. Lastly I think this would be better cooked in a 8x11 pan vs 9x13. The 9x13 just seems too big for the amount (even if you added an extra lb of peaches) of cobbler. I'll use my 8x11 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't feel like making a crust so I used a pie crust and cut the portion size down to 8. Baked the bottom pie crust in the oven for 20 minutes to reduce the chances of it turning out soggy. While baking the bottom pie crust, I mixed together the ingredients. I had a couple cans of peaches on hand and used those. (Lite Del Monte peaches). Turned out DELICIOUS! Served with butter pecan ice cream for a little different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krlong6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I was looking for a good cobbler recipe and I found this one! Boy, am I glad I did. It combined my favorite crust with an absolutely delicious filling. Everything was perfect. The only adjustment I made was to bring the bottom crust up a little higher than halfway up so that the juices stay in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was a good recipe. I don't know if I did something wrong but this came out a little more runny than I liked. There was not enough crust, so I think I'll double that next time. Overall, very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Just made this and have to say it was the best. I modified after reading other reviews. Used 1/4 cup lemon juice, 1/4 cup orange juice and used 3.5 tablespoons corn starch. I cooked the peach mixture on low heat after adding the sugar mixture until I could judge the thickness of the peach mixture. Baked it for 40 minutes, cooled for about an hour, served over vanilla ice cream and my family said "this was the best Peach Cobbler they had ever had!" Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States