Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't feel like making a crust so I used a pie crust and cut the portion size down to 8. Baked the bottom pie crust in the oven for 20 minutes to reduce the chances of it turning out soggy. While baking the bottom pie crust, I mixed together the ingredients. I had a couple cans of peaches on hand and used those. (Lite Del Monte peaches). Turned out DELICIOUS! Served with butter pecan ice cream for a little different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krlong6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I was looking for a good cobbler recipe and I found this one! Boy, am I glad I did. It combined my favorite crust with an absolutely delicious filling. Everything was perfect. The only adjustment I made was to bring the bottom crust up a little higher than halfway up so that the juices stay in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was a good recipe. I don't know if I did something wrong but this came out a little more runny than I liked. There was not enough crust, so I think I'll double that next time. Overall, very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Just made this and have to say it was the best. I modified after reading other reviews. Used 1/4 cup lemon juice, 1/4 cup orange juice and used 3.5 tablespoons corn starch. I cooked the peach mixture on low heat after adding the sugar mixture until I could judge the thickness of the peach mixture. Baked it for 40 minutes, cooled for about an hour, served over vanilla ice cream and my family said "this was the best Peach Cobbler they had ever had!" Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
very good taste....used frozen pie crust instead of making the crust, omitted spices and added almond flavouring to the peaches....delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maple bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Flavor was great, however, filling was very thin- not my idea of an "old fashioned peach cobbler".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Exactly how my mom and grandma made peach cobbler. I now cheat by using Pillsbury pie crusts. I only subbed half cup of sugar with a half cup of dark brown sugar and I added half a tbsp of vanilla before pouring half of the peach mixture in the pan. I then like to put a pie crust in the pan to cover as much of the first level as possible; then I poured in the rest and did a lattice top. I made a peach cobbler worthy of a church picnic. This is a great recipe for an old-school Southern peach cobbler; my co-workers love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coodles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I was in a hurry and didn't read the comments, so I ended up with a watery disaster. It tasted great, but no one would touch it--it just didn't look like cobbler. My fresh peaches were sweet and very, very juicy. I'll try again but pour off half of the juice, use more cornstarch, less sugar, and double crust. (Good crust--used all butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
a little on the sweet side but the pastry and the thickness of the filling is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States